8 svchost.exe's running....

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Simon Phoenix, Jan 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Is this normal? My computer is running a bit slow and I want to speed it up a bit.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Simon, Simon - clean your services and your 52 processes, please ...

    I have 17 processes with my all anti- malware programs ...
     
  3. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Open a command prompt (cmd.exe), type in tasklist /svc . The output shows each instance of svchost, and what services are bound to it. You can then determine which services you 'might' want to disable. Check out Black Vipers list of services to better understand what each does and maybe you can determine if you need them or not.

    Sul.

    EDIT: Also, judging from the quantity of processes currently running, you will probably find performance increases by disabling the auto-run portion of some others. Use msconfig or autoruns or something to toggle them on/off and see which ones you can live without.
     
  4. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
  5. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Downloaded it, trying it out now.

    Thanks
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
    To be honest, it's possible to have many Svchost.Exe's running, in Vista there are even more. Rather than fool with services and trying to disable some and figure out what you need or not (that won't give you any performance improvement anyhow), you'd be better off checking to see if things like your AV are slowing you down, or other security apps, and possibly doing a degrag, and so on. I'd be willing to bet removing any services will not help you. Might save a bit of ram, but not much else.
     
  7. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    The payback for cleaning up services is not as big as the payback for cleaning up startup
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Well Simon, you were last here @ 7:10. How'd Advanced System Care work out?
     
  9. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    On top of that, things like add-in sound cards can also be included in an svchost process. I would not say that fooling with services is a waste of time, but I agree performance wise you are shaving seconds instead of minutes. More improvement could be had by stopping those idiotic 'helpers' that start automatically. If you only use a program from time to time, why not just wait a few seconds longer for it to start up than waste resources with it 'pre-loaded'?

    I agree with your view Kerodo, very spot on.

    Sul.
     
  10. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    open up a cmd box and type Tasklist /SVC you be able to see what each service svchost.exe belongs to.

    turn off unecessary services and reduce your startup files.

    also too many svchost.exe can also be a sign of a trojan running. to validate they are all original svchost.exe use RunScanner
     
  11. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    I uninstalled it, didn't really like it that much. It took up alot of memory and I didn't feel it was worth it.

    I have tune up 09 instead but I'll clean up the startup.
     
  12. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Windows can't find msconfig....?

    I will run a scan in safe mode.
     
  13. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You clean the registry with TuneUp? Your box Home or Pro?
     
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
    If you Google for it, you can get it online pretty easily if it's truly missing.
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Or, as Sully suggested, deal with startup using Autoruns. Dwnld from MS.
     
  16. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
  18. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    ... otherwise: Windows startup programs. What are they? Are they ... http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_content.php

    ... and Sysinfo.org/Startup list: http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php

    ... and Startup Programs and Executables Listing ( DIRECT links ): http://www.lafn.org/webconnect/mentor/startup/PENINDEX.HTM

    Yeah ... I look on my DTaskManager ( By Dimio ); http://dimio.altervista.org/ and I see my processes:

    System Idle Process
    System
    smss.exe
    csrss.exe
    winlogon.exe
    services.exe
    lsass.exe
    svchost.exe
    svchost.exe
    svchost.exe
    explorer.exe
    DTaskManager.exe

    =12 lines for Windows processes;

    and 4 processes from my anti- malwares; in all: 16.

    Start on my Windows: 21 - 22 seconds.

    Best wishes!
     
  19. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
  20. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    I'm handling the issues, did a memtest and my memory is okay so I have to delete some programs and services.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  21. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    431
    I have question regarding svchost.exe.

    Is it normal this process to connect to internet?
    And why?

    With couple of AV's it connects to 255.255.xxx.xxx .

    My other question is while is installed Avast, svchost.exe connects to ISP provider IP address for connecting to internet.

    BTW browser also uses the above ISP - IP address while surfing the net with all the AV's.
     
  22. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    svchost is actually ServiceHost. Think of it as a wrapper for other services. One instance of svchost will house services for network services, another will house services maybe for audio and time update. You need to examine what services are associated with which instance of svchost.

    from command prompt type tasklist /svc. This will show each svchost, and show what services it houses. Then determine which svchost wants to go online and try to figure out which service it is that is actually wanting online capabilities. It could be something as simple as dns,dhcp or time updating.

    Try out Process Explorer to get a clearer indidation of possible rogue svchost instances or rogue services being housed by an svchost instance.

    Good luck.

    Sul.
     
  23. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    431
    Thanks Sully.

    I will try that.

    Actually when i first connect to internet is a clean install restored from image that previously has never been connected to internet.
    So i was curious whether it's possible my PC to send data to ISP and can my ISP spy me.

    I suspect this is because i have disabled NetBIOS over TCP/IP, so my PC somehow tries to connect to internet.
    As i said, i can see that my browser sometimes uses this.

    This is case when i install some program after the firewall is installed.

    If i.e. e.g. SAS is installed before FW there is no problem, but when i reinstall the new version it asks to connect to internet, and when i check those two IP addresses i see that they belong to my ISP provider.
     
  24. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Find a copy of windows worm door cleaner. This tool will help to close some ports you may not need.

    Don't worry about your ISP, they probably have bigger problems than spying on you.

    Normally on XP there are 4 or 5 svchost processes. I have seen as few as 3, but only in extremely tweaked systems. Most have 5, mainly because of using DNS. For me, I have svchost using the following

    instance 1 = dcomlaunch

    instance 2 = audio, crypto,dmserver,hid,lanman,netman,seclogon, sharedaccess,shellhdw,srs,themes,winmgmt

    instance 3 = rpcss

    instance 4 = dnscache

    instance 5 = lmhosts

    If you are familier with services, then you would know that at minimum 2 of the svchost wrappers would be using network. Other services running could affect as well.

    svchost.exe, there is a great ruleset for it in the Outpost forum. I think if I remember right, Paranoid2000 created it. It is somewhere in the archived FAQ for v1 or v2. You might check it out, as he gives a great explanation of what to open/close in your firewall so that svchost still does what it needs to while blocking it should it become rogue.

    Sul.
     
  25. yashau

    yashau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    151
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.