5 Reasons Why IE9 Cannot Stop IE's Decline

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by TheKid7, Apr 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

TheKid7 Registered Member

2. Daveski17

Daveski17 Registered Member

Interesting, I think a lack of really good or varied extensions & customisability is a big factor as well.

3. elapsed

elapsed Registered Member

Did he run out of good reasons after the 1st reason? Hell, he didn't even mention Daveski's reason which is a GOOD reason.

I'll skip point 2 since nothing will come of it.
    Point 3: There's that "loyal" word again *urgg*, yeah rapid release cycles is what made firefox so popular, no.. wait... it isn't. It's popular because it would hands down beat every other browser for the last 9 years or so, and Chrome only started doing it recently. Actually, I'm not even going to start on the part of being "loyal" to 1's and 0's because I'll be ranting for days.
    Point 4: I'm no marketing expert but I'm not spotting anything wrong in this point? He mentions a little bit about HTML5 support, for which last I checked W3C, IE9 lead. I don't see how alpha/beta attracts more users that it normally would.
    Point 5: Again talking about HTML5 as in point 4, but with added nonsense about not supporting in-draft standards. Last I checked, IE9 was supporting more javascript calls on Google's sputnik than any other browser, and as already mentioned, was supporting more HTML5 on the W3C in-development sheet. IE9 and Firefox are also the only browsers that don't support technologies being phased out just to get 100% on Acid3. But ofcourse, we can't go without complaining that it doesn't support Webworkers and WebGL, can we.

I think the first comment sums it up:

Infact a lot of the comments there are correcting the original author, not even any need for me to do so.

Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  4. PJC

PJC Very Frequent Poster

5. Eice

Eice Registered Member

Agreed.