5 Reasons NOT To Buy Vipre Enterprise (Remove-Malware)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Brocke, May 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Pretty nasty complaint! :eek: I use VIPRE AV on all of my VM's without problems and it performs very well and as we all know that not any one solution has 100% detection! But I never used the Enterprise version!

    TH
     
  3. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    yeah i know i really cant say anything about the product good or bad because ive never used it but i just posted it for people to read.

    but i agree pretty nasty lol
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I've not used the VIPRE corporate edition, just the home edition of the av and av + fw, version 4. And they seemed a lot like CounterSpy back a couple years ago (prior to that upgrade that took like 2 years from one version to the next). Every time I use one of their products it feels like I am using some beta release. There is always some glitch or issue that pops up which needs fixed. I'm not sure if the company has a really small beta team or what the issue is. But I just got tired of messing with the products, even ones I had full licenses for. Last time I tried VIPRE Premium 4 on my laptop there were problems with the program and on uninstall some script did not run completely (with the VIPRE removal tool) and at every boot up a VIPRE window would pop up as it left a service running. I finally got rid of it, but little things like that are my experiences with VIPRE.
     
  5. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    It's a surprise really reading from a security technician-administrator such things. Actually this way they testify that they are incapable to train personnel, apply strict rules, monitor employees activity and many other things-typical measures for a corporate network.

    So before blaming the AV they should blame themselves. Of course the things that I've said above do not mean that he is wrong about Vipre. I don't really know although I use it many months as desktop AV and I had no infections at all or any stability issues.
     
  6. Narxis

    Narxis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    477
    There is a huge difference between personal and corporate use. Sometimes an antivirus is bad in personal use but it's very good in corporate use, or it's good in personal use but bad in corporate.
     
  7. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    Agree. Never said the opposite. I have just said my experience with the desktop software, although you can find my main point in the first paragraph of my previous post.
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    never mind allegedly bad performance how did he manage to get, not just one, rootkits on the network? Maybe check and change something there too ;)
     
  9. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    I've used vipre before and its been solid software, now while I havnt tried the enterprise version, I trust my gut!

    Alex has been posting on here for a very long time, I trust his words, its sincere.

    Maybe it would be easier to give 5 reasons not to trust this guys judgement, rather than sunbelts performance.
     
  10. Reposed

    Reposed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    I got a free license for Vipre and was pleased with its performance until I noticed a couple of start-up items I could not remove (MGTreg32dll.vbs and boot.ini) Virustotal confirmed they were malware. So I scanned them directly with Vipre but it did not detect them.

    So I uninstalled Vipre and installed Avira and did a full scan. Avira detected the two start-up items and removed them. It also detected and removed 5 other viruses on my machine.

    I will be sticking with Avira from now on.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I will continue to use VIPRE as I had no problems with it and even during the Beta stage of V4 and they continue to have great support here at Wilders and even on there own forums! :thumb:

    TH
     
  12. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    That's an interesting blog entry.
    Seems uncharacteristic of mrizos. ??
    He has really gone to town.
    Something has really set him off there.
    Cant recall any other pasting like that.
     
  13. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
  14. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    Wow...... is all I can say,but Matt does do alot of malware work and has his own business for 8 years or longer.
     
  15. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    That's what happens when software you install ends up costing you money instead of gaining you money.
     
  16. LoadCoil

    LoadCoil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    For my first post, I have a couple of comments about the blog post by Matt.

    I am quite sure the issues he experienced was devastating, and time consuming. Most problems on a network is compounded with the number of PCs Matt was dealing with. And, honestly, Sunbelt did release a bad definition that bit me as well. I give Sunbelt credit as they do believe in customer service. I use the home version (Vipre Premium), and have worked on the Enterprise version. The console is excellent as stated in the article, and easy to manage. The home version equipped with the firewall is a strong contender in the AV world. I did have a few issues getting the right firewall settings, but in the few months I have been using Vipre, I remain infection free. Of course I run Immunet Protect Free beta, and Prevx, both which get along well with Vipre.

    I commend Alex, the CEO of Sunbelt for standing up with his support team. This day and age it is refreshing to see the management team get their knuckles dirty.

    For this moment in time, Vipre has my vote of confidence.
     
  17. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    good for you.
    Viper is a good product and i really like it too
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.