5.0.95 new version?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by stratoc, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

  2. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    same question i was going to post i see it listed everywhere as the newest version..
     
  3. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Changes please (in this builds)
     
  4. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    So confusing... :/
     
  5. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    I think it would be a different number if it was a new build..
     
  6. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    No it is new builds.
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i dont want the live installer and it seems if i download the offline from eset web site i still .94 not .95??
     
  8. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Strange on the frenche site it is version 5.0.95!!!
     
  9. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    it's just the hotfix! if you don't use xp or external hardrives nothing new.
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    California
  11. Pilgrim1

    Pilgrim1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    Being a newbie to ESS, I would like to know if it is generally recommended to do a complete uninstall when one of these incremental updates is released, e.g., 5.0.94 to 5.0.95.

    Secondly, if an uninstall is recommended, what happens to all your settings that have been made?

    Lastly, with an uninstall/reinstall do you have to re-enter your license code again?
     
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    There is no need to uninstall the currently-installed version when upgrading from an incremental version (e.g., v5.0.94 to v5.0.95).

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  13. Pilgrim1

    Pilgrim1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    Wow... thanks for the near instantaneous reply.

    Could you please address the other two questions in regard to having to uninstall your current version and then install a newer version?

    1. What happens to your custom settings? Are they all lost? or is there an option to save them?
    2. Do you have to enter your license code on the new install? (NP, I do have it saved. :) )

    TIA
     
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    would you just just download and run it.. over the old one??
     
  15. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    If you got 5.0.94 or any other 5.x version Yes.
     
  16. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    I'm getting tiny lock ups when playing world of warcraft with this version (which was a clean install) mbam crashed during it's update and again task schedler is painfully slow to open, after removing eset all is well again.
     
  17. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    although it was work to get some copy protected games back on , I went to a backup & now the new version works & I did renew today. I trust ESET & yes I toy with other AV's but my main AV is ESET , thanks its running great now, I'll take the blame...thanks ESET
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    thats great Larry, I mean that.:thumb:
     
  19. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    1. It seems .95 Installed Over .94 did NOT lose my settings.
    To SAVE settings: Rt Clk ESET Eye in Sys Tray/Home/Setup/bottom
    group = Import-Export Settings/Export to a Folder-& location you
    create; To RESTORE changed settings just Import via Same Import-
    Export Settings module; I generally name my Settings (ie)
    "12-12-11 ESS XML BkUp".

    2. I did NOT have to provide ID/PWd;
    I DID have to RE-BOOT to make Update work ...........
     
  20. Pilgrim1

    Pilgrim1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    COSMO26,

    Thanks for the reply and quick tutorial for backing up configuration settings. All worked fine and just another feather in ESET's hat in my estimation. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.