3666 - new version. Anyone tried it yet?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by backman, Jun 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. backman

    backman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I just noticed that there is a new version out, 3666. Is this just out today? I'm at the office right now so I have no way of trying it before tonight. Would one of you intrepid, adventurous types install it and report back for us. :D

    Terry
     
  2. SemiP

    SemiP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    NB this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=779640&postcount=1

    SemiP
     
  3. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
  4. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Ditto!
     
  5. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Yes, I just installed it as an upgrade to 3633. It will not run. I get an error message to reinstall because it can't find my proper serial number. This is a purchased copy of Workstation with Universal restore.

    ACRONIS, Any one there that can give me a hand. I'm tired of being a beta tester.

    Many thanks
     
  6. backman

    backman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    OK, I went through the same thing..., again. As usual, I just uninstalled the 3633 build and then installed the 3666 version and everything is fine again. I really hate the invalid serial error, but it worked in the end and I have the updated version showing just as it should. Maybe those that got the wrong version, 3633, should try the download again. It worked for me.

    Terry
     
  7. twokatmew

    twokatmew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    have you actually looked at the build number? I just downloaded again, and it still says it's build 3633, which is OLD ... and WRONG! I submitted a message to support, got a canned response earlier today. Hopefully Acronis will fix it and put the correct build up on the site for download.
     
  8. hectorsm

    hectorsm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    30
    I am getting the same thing. The filename is trueimage9.0.3666_s_en but after installation it says it's Acronis True Image Home® version 9.0 (build 3,633). The newer download is just 1K larger so I am not sure it this is the same file or not.
     
  9. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    What a waste of download bandwidth ! I downloaded the dang file earlier today and, after I saw twokatmew's post, I checked the file version with Explorer and, despite the fact that the "newer" build is 1 kb bigger, I'll be d**ned if the if the file version isn't marked 9.0.0.3633 on both files !

    You know, I'll have to just bite my tongue since I'm a guest here at the sufferance of the forum owner, admin(s), moderators and the TOS, but I can't help saying this is getting pretty discouraging and just plain old starting to look third rate. This old camel can only carry so much on his back, if you get my drift.
     
  10. backman

    backman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Geez,

    Don't get upset with me. I think the difference is I am using TI 9.1 WS. I was responding to Silver 0066 and he did say, "This is a purchased copy of Workstation with Universal restore."

    Look for your self...

    Terry
     

    Attached Files:

  11. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    backman, YOU'RE the last one I'd be getting upset with, unless you're the one that authorized the release of the bogus 3666 build and allowed me to waste my time downloading it. I didn't waste a download on your sayso or anybody else's, you simply alerted me to what Acronis had done and I made my own decisions after that. The camel I metaphorically refer to is carrying the weight of a long string of insults having nothing to do with you. Sorry to use your thread to vent my spleen. I'll go away and be quiet now.
     
  12. backman

    backman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Heheh...

    No problem. I am such a slow typist that you got your post in before I could respond to those above you. I hadn't even seen your post yet. :D

    Really the only problem here seems to be that Acronis may have updated the 9.1 WS version and not the 9.0 home version, causing some extra confusion.

    Terry
     
  13. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    :p hehe.... OK, well, then let's just consider my second post to be a "pre-emptive clarification" of my first post for the general membership.;)

    But they DID mark my "My Updates" page (TI Home 9.0) as having a new build for download effective 06-21-06.
     
  14. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    backman, ...here is another pic to support that v3666...is indeed v3633.;)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 21.png
      21.png
      File size:
      41.6 KB
      Views:
      1,258
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2006
  15. _Kento_

    _Kento_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    96
    WOW...3666...frightening number :blink: ...may be this case all the problems:) (sorry for offtop) Will wait for Acronis to solve the problem. May be they might also tell what bugs this build fixes.
     
  16. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    LMAO!!! o_O :eek: :D :eek: :D o_O
     
  17. backman

    backman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    starsfan09,

    As I said...
     

    Attached Files:

  18. backman

    backman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Remember, TI WS 9.1 does seem to be updated properly. 9.0 Home does not.

    Terry
     
  19. backman

    backman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Say, you are an optimist, aren't you? :D

    Terry
     
  20. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I'm downloading as we speak, I'll let y'all know.
     
  21. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

    The correct build (3666) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home was already uploaded to our web site.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  22. RAV

    RAV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    70
    I updated to the new version (Home) and everything went smoothly and the correct version is reported.
     
  23. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    The downloaded file has version 3633, not 3666.
     
  24. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Me too.
     
  25. HelpFromFrance

    HelpFromFrance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    283

    Just above, several people say it isn't 3666 yet, so to parapharse an old song "is it is or is it ain't 3666" (opps just showed my age :-* )? No desire to download 75 meg to find out it is not updated.

    Have a good day,
    HelpFromFrance
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.