360 Total Security - English

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ifacedown, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Here's some news to kick start this week.
    360 Browser is now supported in English. Have fun.
    http://chrome.360.cn/
    https://s32.postimg.org/3lzhh3gs5/360browser.jpg
    https://s32.postimg.org/3lzhh3gs5/360browser.jpg
    That black bar above are my bookmarks, which is kind of a private thing, sooo.... :)

    As for the sandbox, still working on it, don't want to rush things, but the concept as per feedback here is:
    1: Containerization of sandbox [separate each program in it's own sandbox, so they are all separate inside one sandbox.
    2: shortcut to terminate sandbox [at the moment I think CTRL+ALT+X but need to check for duplication in other programs]
    3: User designated download folder [custom choose download folder] for easier user downloaded file recovery.

    If need something more added, changed, removed, do let me know.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2016
  2. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    4: SUA compatibility.
    Thank you.

     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,030
    I've been using it for nearly a year and a half in English. I did not have to change the language to English, it did that itself.

    What has changed now?
     
  4. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    945
    Hi GakunGak

    Another requisite for the Sandbox in 360 TS

    1) The option of choosing to automatically empty sandbox on browser shutdown. Why? Because it ensures a sandbox free from nasties, for the next Browser use.

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  5. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    It has English language in the settings as I have shown in the screenshot, for those that did not have localized Windows in English.
     
  6. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Got it, thanks. I'll add this as the discussion about the sandbox is already underway. Fun fact: it was being made by same Chinese devs who did it fit the Chinese version, let's call it total security :)
    Anyways, preliminary findings indicate to accommodate all requests, especially SUA, it might take a while. I've had some talks and will try to push it until September until I'm gone. After that, someone will take my place and handle this. Gotta say, is been an amazing experience so far :)
     
  7. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,375
    Location:
    Germany
  8. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    945
    Hi GakunGak

    Think I might have found another problem with 360 TS Essentials.

    When I try to create shortcuts on the Desktop of Win 10 it freezes. Many instances of this. Switch off 360 TSE via right click on systray then move slider to off. You can then make shortcuts without problem. Switch 360 TSE back on, problem returns it freezes.

    Could u have a look at it please?

    Thanks

    terry
     
  9. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Same OS (Win10) and 360 TSE, no issue creating shortcuts on the Desktop...
     
  10. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    1: Please list any/all programs in system tray [near the clock].
    2: Please confirm Windows 10 is fully updated
    3: Please confirm full system scan does not find any anomalies.
    4: Security level in TSE
     
  11. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    945
    Hi GakunGak

    1) NoVirusThanksEXERadar Pro - Alert Mode
    ZoneAlarmFree
    KeyScrambler Pro
    360 TSEssentials Security Level in TSE = SECURITY
    AutoVer Backup
    MalwareBytes Anti Exploit latest version
    Pop Peeper Mail Notifier.
    2) Win 10 Fully updated + Anniversary update yesterday.
    3) Full System scan does not find any anomalies.
    4) Security level360 TSE = Security

    As an aside if you search Google along the following lines:- "Creating shortcut causes freezes Win 10" you will find others with a similar problem. One of whom declares he removed 360 TS from his system. Pity he did not contact Qihoo!!

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  12. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    OK I'll try to replicate this with exact conditions. Until I get back to you, do me a favor? Disable ALL startup programs except for 360 and try creating shortcut.
    If it works, then enable onl KeyScrambler Pro with 360. If it works, disable it and enable ZoneAlarm Free. If it works, disable it and enable Malwarebytes AE. If it works,
    then a combination of security programs are creating conflict among themselves and I guess it could be permission memory or realtime scanning conflicting.
    Maybe if you could add them all to exclusions [whole folders if possible] in every program that supports it, just to test it right out.
    I'll fire this up with the engineers back at the lab to test it out in parallel just to see what happens.
    Thank you for reporting this.
     
  13. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    945
    Hi GakunGak

    To add a little more meat to the bones, in my quest to find the answer to the problem outlined in post 2086, I have on numerous occasions rebooted the PC to see if it was a temporary "affliction". On two out of twelve monitored reboots the problem appears to be resolved, that is until the next re-boot when the problem returned (twice occurred).

    Referring to your modus operandi as in your post 2087 ie Disable ALL startup programs - Before doing this I rebooted to ensure that I had a clean start. Unfortunately, on reboot I was able to create shortcuts without problem. Nevertheless I followed through with an exact copy of what u asked me to do. Unsurprisingly, I had no problem creating shortcuts by disabling the startup programs on a one by one or total basis.

    However, on reboot the problem started all over again (freezing) and I was unable to determine, using your methadology, what was causing the problem. ie on a one by one basis + 360 nothing showed up as the culprit. (There was still a problem of freezing.) When I re-enabled all start up applications, without a system re-boot BUT disabled 360 TSE I was able to create shortcuts without freezing. Moreover, when I re-enabled 360TSE the freezing returned.

    Hope this gives some insight.

    Terry
     
  14. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    On my end, it's either Key Scrambler or Anti Exploit that's causing mayhem. I like to call it "overprotection syndrome".
    Here's another thing you could try. Install Process Lasso program [free or trial] and leave default settings [in installation wizard choose date/time format that is compatible to you], reboot and try again.
    If with Process Lasso you still have freeze, one of those two programs will have to go, or 360. As I suspected, conflict among programs.
     
  15. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    945
    Hi GakunGak

    Just got up, still sleepy. Thanks for your input. Will give it a whirl.

    Terry
     
  16. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Thank you. Do let me know of any changes.
     
  17. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,375
    Location:
    Germany
  18. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    945
    Hi GakunGak

    As an aside and referring to your last post, are you saying that Keyscrambler and MB Anti Exploit are not necessary in my set up? Remember I do on line Banking. Thanks for your thoughts in advance.

    Terry
     
  19. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    I'm saying that some specific protection components overlap, or are close to "collision" with each other.
    If I were to choose between keyscrambler and MBAE, then without thinking keyscrambler would be the first one to go.
    Why?
    You already have various protection shields [from obvious ones, such as exploit and shopping protection, antivirus] that guard the entrances to theft. How so?
    First, in order to someone to spy on you or steal banking credentials, it would have to gain access to your PC physically [can't happen while you're on it] or be the middleman in connection [read Man-in-the-Middle attack]. Anti exploit ensures that vulnerabilities [if any exist] such as from your browser or PDF reader [hello adobe flash!], are not used by scripts or malware trying to modify the page you're looking at, or takeover your browser so it could read stored data. That's your first line. Your second line is antiviru, which monitors realtime happenings in your system operating memory and intercepts thisisobviousmalware.exe who is trying to load and do the job of the exploit [either via email, ad or even compromised banking server]. That is more than enough.
    Keyscrambler is good to turn plaintextsuchasthis into ikhipudfs76sdukysd89 and is critical component if a system is compromised. But, if you have your system compromised, an attacker could gather other data which could help him activelly in securing whatever objective he has in mind.
    I would suggest looking at Mr. Melih's case to see what a determined individual can do.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z3WkmRD1hqM
    Now, your setup, again, in theory, is rock solid. But when problems start to happen, then either is compromise or a totally new setup.
    A virtualization/sandbox technology [sandbox already in 360] or linux live [paranoid level of concern]....
     
  20. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
  21. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
  22. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    New update

    8.8.0.1030 Aug 5, 2016
    Fixed: Bug fixes
     
  23. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    842
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    A bug in the latest version 8.8.0.1030 chinese chararcters in the description of the items to be optimized in the Speedup task:
     

    Attached Files:

  24. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
  25. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    842
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.