360 Total Security - English

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ifacedown, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    It can get slow [hdd grinding when moving stuff around] when using security, so I use balanced most of the time and is responsive. But, my experience is my experience, as each machine is different, so, see for yourself.
    As for your second question, you are free to do so. If my memory serves me right, ASC has anti malware solution inside the package, so make sure there are no conflicts [both eating each other out, exclusion of folders of respective programs perhaps?].
    Try it out and see, it should be compatible.
    this is what I run every day :)
    http://s33.postimg.org/4dw7li5tb/tray.jpg
    http://s33.postimg.org/4dw7li5tb/tray.jpg
    from left to right: O&O Defrag Pro, Qihoo 360 TS, connection indicator, volume control, notifications suppressed, language selector and time & date :)
    BUT, on standby, I have HitmanPro, MBAM, Emsisoft Emergency Kit, Norton Power Eraser, Comodo Cleaning Essentials, and some stuff from GeGeek Toolkit laying there somewhere, collecting dust :)
    On Sunday, during lunch, I launch qihoo full scan and these scanners just to be sure :) Each week :)
    That is what/how I do, but you are free to devise your own strategy. Just pick something you are most comfortable with and does not impair your ablity to use your computer.
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,070
    Only ASC Ulitimate includes an antivirus (it uses Bitdefender's scan engine).
     
  3. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,247
    I truly apologize, but what is ASC?
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,070
    Advanced SystemCare.
     
  5. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    And pro
    http://www.iobit.com/en/advancedsystemcarepro.php?
    And free:
    http://www.iobit.com/en/advancedsystemcarefree.php
    I do believe it is limited in functionality than paid solution, but still :)
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,070
    @GakunGak Both the free and Pro version ASC only contain a spyware scanner - with terrible detections rates (but pretty much zero false positives). The Pro version, also includes realtime protection against spyware, but it is very basic and won't conflict with any other security software.

    Only ASC Ultimate (which I use), and IObit Malware Fighter v4 (not previous versions), include an actual antivirus.
     
  7. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,247
    Damn it, it never occured to me that you were talking about Advanced SystemCare. But I have no worries about it, because at the very first stage of installation ASC actually asks you if you will install Iobit Malware Fighter Pro or something like that, all you have to do is to leave it unchecked and Iobit Malware Fighter Pro antimalware will simply not install at all, and you are just OK, and that's exactly what I did, I simply left it unchecked and this antimalware did not install itself, so I'm safe as well as are all other users who did the same as what I did-just leave it unchecked when it asks you if you want to install it all.
     
  8. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    I understand. Thanks for the clarification!!! :)
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,070
    You're welcome.
     
  10. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Sandbox works only in Admin account on my Win-7 . I use only Standard account.
    When I start 360 TS as admin, Sandbox doesn't work any way.

    Is it possible to use Sandbox in the Standard account?

    Here's how 360TS Sandbox reacts when I push start button though I just added a browser with it:
    Capture.PNG
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2016
  11. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    I'll look into it.
     
  12. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,391
    Location:
    Germany
  13. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    The same with Guest account.
     
  14. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Thanks.

    There's a huge festival in progress so the folks are taking a relaxed mode, I'll let you know as soon as I get a reply.

    I'll do some research on guest/standard account limitations to see what some programs can and can't do.
    I'll figure it's the same as in default linux, standard accound and if you want to make drastic changes or take over the system [sandbox, emulation of storage space, ram, cpu] you need administrative access.

    I'll fire this up for investigation.
     
  15. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Really thank you very much. I wish Auto-Sandbox can be available in Standard user account.
     
  16. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    You mean to always run in sandbox programs you put in Sandbox>My Toys or automatically run unknown/new stuff like Comodo?
     
  17. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    I mean the first one: always run is the Sandbox in "My Toys". AFAIK the second one i.e. automatically run unknown a la Comodo isn't possible with 360 TS.

    Thank you.
     
  18. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Understood. I'll let you know the update.
     
  19. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Ok. Thank you!
     
  20. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Also, quarantined files cannot be deleted in a standard account even though the files were quarantined in the same user account.
     
  21. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Thank you for reporting this.
     
  22. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,308
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,070
    @Dragon1952 It's interesting that they title the review "Qihoo 360 Total Security Essential" when they've actually reviewed 360 Total Security rather than Essential version.

    Poor scores at antiphishing and URL blocking don't matter to me, as these are things I disable in any antivirus which has such features, to prevent them from blocking websites I may want to visit. I prefer this approach rather than whitelisting a blocked site that I want to visit. I just find it easier to have nothing blocked in the first place.

    I'm more concerned about the poor scores for malware blocking. However, having said that when I scanned some malware packs recently at Jotti, the detection rates for 360 TS were excellent.
     
  24. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,308
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Check out this test of v4 at his utube channel.

    The PC Security Channel https://www.youtube.com/user/ThePCSecurity?feature=em-uploademail
     
  25. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953

    http://www8.pcmag.com/media/images/505296-qihoo-360-total-security-essential-8-6-suspicious-behavior.jpg?thumb=y
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.