360 Total Security - English

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ifacedown, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    No I have not mutually excluded those two programs from each other. I have seen no reason to do that on my computer so far.

    - I use the Proactive Security setting.
    - Hips is off.
    - Auto Sand box is on
    - Viruscope is on.
    - Firewall is in Safe mode.

    I activated these settings in the Firewall configuration ...

    * Filter IPv6 Trafic
    * Filter Loopback Trafic
    * Block Fragmented IP Traffic
    * Protocol Analysis.
    * anti-ARP spoofing activated.

    I basically used this webpage to set Comodo Firewall.

    http://www.techsupportalert.com/content/how-install-comodo-firewall.htm#Configure_Antivirus
     
  2. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    Thanks for that. I'm running with TinyWall which seems to have no impact on performance, so far.
     
  3. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Many thanks for sharing this useful info! :)
    You're most welcome. Thank you for sharing your experience :)
     
  4. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Thank you for your detailed answer.

    Sure I've read the privacy police entirely. They don't specify why they may collect passwords there.

    Thank you for your answer. Actually there's no words of collecting passwords in Avast's privacy policy.
     
  5. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    If you own 360 account [I use 360 YunPan so I do], they might collect that password.
    If you use 360 Extreme Explorer [chrome.360.cn], as I do, and link it via 360 account for settings/preferences/website passwords sync.
    If you shop via 360.
    Those passwords WILL NOT be, ever, used by them. In fact, data retention is:
    1: encrypted and stored safely to minimize risk of breach as much as possible
    2: high level vetting process for 360 Employees working on-site having physical access to those machines storing user data
    3: data used in research is being scrubbed of details not relevant for research. For example, for the number of installed 360 Total Security worldwide, it is redudant to have personal details other than specific for that detail needed. Why would a marketing department need your password detail if it wants to make a pie chart of trend rising or falling.

    360 WOULD, with user consent, share data requested by authority [court, police] ONLY, again, ONLY if there is credible evidence that you, user, might be involved with:
    - Conspiracy to undermine current political environment in China
    - Conspiracy to stage terrorist attacks
    - Conspiracy to take part, take activities or plan severe violations of basic human rights like assasination, kidnapping, extortion....
    - Conspiracy to take part, take activities or plan severe acts against huge civillian population, state or military via electronic offensive warfare, read:malware & cracking/hacking/phishing....
    - Conspiracy to take part, take activities or plan severe acts against Qihoo 360 infrastructure, disruption of services, crippling or digital manipulation that is against common sense....

    These are radical approach which would not account for, say, at least 99% normal users. But, there are those that might.... do things differently.

    If there are concerns as to how things are handled here, either write directly to:
    Email: privacy@360safe.com
    Write PM to: https://www.facebook.com/360safe/
    G+: https://plus.google.com/ 360TotalSecurity
    Or just let me know here.

    I understand this is a very sensitive subject to privacy oriented folks, so I will bear with you until any inquiry [spelling?] is resolved.

    Thank you for your patience :)

    EDIT: Example of my 360 Account, which I told of earlier:
    http://i63.tinypic.com/suvamx.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  6. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Thanks GakunGak. I assumed the privacy statement listing saved passwords was for Qihoo accounts requiring a password. The same reason credit card numbers used for purchasing Qihoo services are part of the privacy statement.
     
  7. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    They are as well. You are most welcome :)
     
  8. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Do you read Chinese? :eek:

    Thank you again for detailed answer. I feel ashamed for making you write so much. :)

    Sorry for overloading this thread with this password issue. They would just better specify this sensitive issue in the Privacy Policy instead of vague statement "we may collect" - looking rather menacing.

    Cheers! :blink:
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2016
  9. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    My Chinese-fu skills are still limited but I am doing all right with the use of Google Translate and LINE. I can get a hand of it on most stuff....
    Don't be. In fact, it is all right to question everything and anything. Where there is censorship, well, there's... something, I had a word for this!
    Besides,
    ~ Removed Image Link As Per Policy ~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2016
  10. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
  11. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Indeed.
    In fact, trust was the weakest link that just happened. Now we can say it should not, ever, but, when you want to speed things along and simplify things....
    Was Qihoo guilty? Absolutely! The damage is already done, even when internal investigation has been launched and damage control mode is on.
    What can be learned of this? That even a security company could be friendly phished.
    Yes, it happened. Yes, there are already steps to correct this even before this story broke out.
    Is everyone outside China safe? Yes.
    Anyway:
    http://news.softpedia.com/news/soph...ist-malware-on-chinese-antivirus-502739.shtml
    Do have in mind that those whitelisted programs that were modified were available via Qihoo App Store, and clean one's were available on developers websites.

    Special thanks to @Spokesman for reporting this outbreak concerning Chinese users.
     
  12. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
  13. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
  14. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    What is the purpose of the Qihoo 360 Download Manager? I never see anything downloaded in the Window?
     
  15. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Used to download/upload virus definitions over P2P
     
  16. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    I never have seen anything in that downloaded window. I noticed another thing. The new version automatically installed the Bitdefender engine and definitions on both computers.
     
  17. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    That's... a bad thing? Or a good thing? Neither?
    Do you believe this to be a bug? If so, do you confirm that both engines were uninstalled? Did it get enabled?
     
  18. happysurf

    happysurf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Confirmed, the last 8.2.10.1133 version now use Bitdefender engine in default "Balanced" configuration and the proprietary Cloud engine is disappeared.
    Still I don't know if this choice is good for performance but let's see...

    EDIT: After a while my first impression is not good, the system seems more slow.
    In addition now take much memory, about 150 Mb. + 50 Mb. (QHActiv Defense + QHSafeTray processes) on my XP.
    This is the beginning of the end?
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2016
  19. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Thanks for reporting this.
    I have made aware the guys in charge and will update the new info here.
    Please have patience.
    In the meantime, please disable additional engines you do not use for realtime in CUSTOM configuration profile, until this situation is resolved.
     
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,392
    Location:
    Germany
  21. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    So, update, as promised.
    Turns out, this bug, is actually not bug at all, but a spec change from the dev team, in order to offer more solid protection.
    The change this is going is for memory optimization of additional engine running, and if you don't like it, you can manually disable it in Custom profile.
    I can imagine this change will make some folks extremely furious. I understand that.
    I will try to reverse the decision [if any kind of percentage is even possible], but....
    I will do my best to fix this, and I will take responsibility, but after this....
    I might be looking at something else......
     
  22. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well I personally have all 5 engines activated ever since I started using TSE, and in idle mode only 20 to 23% of my Desktops memory is used. ( Under Windows 8.1 ) And I do not notice a drop in performance of my desktop with all 5 engines activated. So I personally believe that we all should not forget that software can / will react differently on each computer. Meaning that it may not be possible to make TS / TSE work as light as it does for me and others I guess ... every system is different one way or the other.

    Does not mean Qihoo should not try to do so, any improvement is helpful and welcome. :)
     
  23. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    In case like this, Balanced should stay Balanced, and Security should stay Security.
     
  24. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    I still have the Cloud Engine listed. I don't notice any difference on the Windows 7 computer performance-wise but I will probably disable BD on the XP computer. On the Windows 7 computer QHActiveDefense process is using about 90MB .360 Web Shield, QHSafeMain, and QHSafeTray using 38MB total (Private Working Set).
     
  25. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    True enough.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.