360 Internet Security: FREE Triple antivirus engine, BitDefender included

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I'm unfamiliar with 360 they have a paid ver. im sure? any I guess.
     
  2. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
  3. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    No paid version, all are free and fully functional, no restrictions.
    Do feel free to check out each one of them and decide what rings your bells :)
    http://www.360totalsecurity.com/
    http://360safe.com/internet-security.html

    Now, gentlemen, if you'll excuse me, I'm off to watch Singham while I prepare for, yet again, rewatch of Star Trek.
    See you all in 2024... :)
     
  4. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Thank you
     
  5. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    How many people do you think use outbound filtering? 1%? 0.01%? For a vast majority of people, there is no need. Just use a good AV instead.

    Any time I have used a program that does outbound filtering, 99% of the alerts are false positives.

    BTW - Do you realize a lot of internet security programs that includes "a firewall", it is really just a front end for windows firewall, with maybe some config tweaks?
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
  6. questions

    questions Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    55
    Hi,

    Most of the people who understand how a firewall works use a both way firewall; to use a firewall with only inbound protection s similar with using a router and ads ZERO value.

    No "a lot" of security programs use Windows firewall, in fact most of them have a dedicated inbound outbound firewall.

    For Win 7 I use PC Tools Firewall Plus with excellent results.
     
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Any firewall alerts I have seen in the past 5+ years are been FPs, and more of an annoyance than anything else.

    Given a choice, I always choose the AV version of a program over an IS version that includes a firewall and other non-essentials(parental control, spam filter, cookie cleaner, etc..).

    I could understand an AV expert, who's really trying to look down their system, wanting a firewall with outbound protection. I suspect most normal users don't want the extra prompts, and just click "allow" anyway.
     
  8. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Is there just a AV version of the newest one?
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,363
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I agree, for years I've used look'n'Stop firewall because of its outbound filtering without ever seeing any benefit. I stopped using it with Vista and Win8, as the firewall had been improved compared to the XP version. I'm also quite certain that for Vista, Win7-8, the firewall can be configured for outbound filtering, although it's not a straight forward operation, it requires some guidance.
     
  10. questions

    questions Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    55
    It requires more than "guidance" , it requires in fact another program , like "Binisoft" for example, which will block all outbound connections and let you "unblock ,one by one. Is a pain in the ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ to use it , so I reverted to PC Tools Firewall Plus 7.0.0.123.

    I never had ONE false positive or one alert which I couldn't understand.
    In fact I went through a lot of secutity suites with firewall or only firewalls, but PC Tools proved to be the best one.

    On second place Comodo firewall 5.10 or 5.12
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2015
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,045
    360 Internet Security v5 which was relased on the 12 of January is working on Windows 10 Technical Preview - unlike previous releases, even though Windows 10 isn't officially supported yet.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2015
  12. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Same here, only the webcam protection isn't working, but I had that same issue with Total Security. Does anybody know where to get the Google chrome extension to enable web and downloaded file scanning?
     
  13. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
  14. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  15. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    722
    No, is not working. I just tried few bad pages with the extension installed (latest Chrome/360 Internet Security) and it didn't work.
     
  16. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    To be honest I do not know if it will work with 360 Internet Security, simply because I have never tried 360 IS? ( Because of your previous post I thought you where using 360 Total Security. )

    EDIT: Well PaulBB answered your question. :)
     
  17. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thank you both :thumb: I really prefer 360 Internet security above 360 Total Security. It's a lot faster and lighter for on my system. I also asked the question about the Google Chrome extension trough the feedback option in 360 IS and hope I get an answer from them.
     
  18. nikkho

    nikkho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Spain
    Same me. Not to mention 360IS is x64 native, while 360TS is x86.
     
  19. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Your point being?
    Their flagship product weshi also installs on x86, and yet there is no degradation of protection.
    Pic related:
    http://i57.tinypic.com/2ppwsoz.jpg
    @Gandalf_The_Grey I am working on getting you 360 Security extension, will post link here, thanks for your patience.
    I am unable to do anything at this time, even installed older version from filehippo, for some reason only firefox extension is available. I am sorry. Do let me know if Qihoo guys reply to you, if not, I will escalate it on their G+ page.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2015
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    I see both products are being develop, what is the difference between both? why they keep 2 similar products?
     
  21. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Long story short, Qihoo was convinced that some people like simplicity and "pure" antivirus product, without all bells and whistles.
    The difference?
    Internet Security: Qihoo av's + Bitdedender + Sandbox
    Total Security: QAv's + Bitdefender + Avira + Sandbox + Cleaner + Optimizer + System Patcher

    Total is now a flagship product, while IS will be supported due to popular demand.
     
  22. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks GakunGak. I also can only find the Firefox extension. Unfortunately I have not received an answer from Qihoo yet.
     
  23. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    http://elitedaily.com/news/world/company-offering-night-porn-star-bonus-photo/926792/
     
  24. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Does IS still have the Bitdefender signature/ update lag?
     
  25. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,638
    I see they are planning a firewall; will it be for all products?
    Or will it be something like: Internet Security-AV only, Total Security-AV plus FW
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.