3 antispyware programs in real time?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Drew99GT, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Would this just be stupid? I've had it with HIPS programs; DSA hosed a windows update and totally fudged my computer and I can't get it to shut off to do updates etc.

    So I have SAS Pro, and Spyware Doctor Google pack version both running real time protection, both playing together perfectly along with Avira free. I'm thinking, If I had Spyware Terminator without the stupid annoying HIPS activated, that should give me a super duper layered signature approach to security.

    Or, am I nutso_O o_O

    Has anyone run this many real time programs together without issue?
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I think it's nuts. But feel free.
     
  3. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    IMO it's overkill.

    A conflict may not happen at all...or it may not be a problem untill more than one program finds the same malware.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    no offence but your insane:D
    since your probaly already using an alternate browser and a safe surfer you probaly dont even needed one antispyware program in realtime.
    just a AV in realtime will be enough for you.
    lodore
     
  5. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    Just use AOL Active Virus Shield, Comodo Pro Firewall, and Cyberhawk Free. This way you will have better protection than Iodore who uses KIS. LOL. Just kidding Iodore. Seriously though, AOL AVS has spyware detection and even if if you don't add the free version of CH your covered dude.
     
  6. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    I don't even feel the need to run even one antispyware program in real time let alone 3. Still if having fun with programs is why you bought your pc then see if you can get 4 to run - go for it.
     
  7. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    I agree with you Long View. I am one of those individuals that enjoys using different security software's, but really believe I could get away with using just AVG Free or Avast and never get infected.
     
  8. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    You're nuts.
    They might run together OK, but when they both discover the same thing and get into a discussion about it, the results are likely to be unpredictable.
    I would imagine SAS pro, Avira free, good two way firewall, and a non- IE browser will keep you as safe as you can reasonably get, since it appears you don't want to learn how to work a HIPS.
     
  9. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Antispyware apps are mostly useless. Just my opinion.
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I'd like to add that with the new wave of virtual programs, it makes it redundant to use antispyware applications in real time. Most of them aren't free, but "Returnil" for one is free for home users, you will never have to worry about spyware in the future. Furthermore your system will be lighter and faster.
     
  11. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I have Prevx 2, Spyware Terminator and Boclean and all is good here. :)
     
  12. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Have you been spying on my machines ? DeepFeeze 6, Returnil and FD-ISR are
    in use on various family machines. I like Returnil - very impressive for such a new program - a few minor rough edges - but I expect it to develop very well.
     
  13. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408

    Three would be a bit much.(even for me:D )
    I would suggest one for realtime and another for on demand.
    Nutso_O No your not nuts, I believe just tring to get the best security set up for you. (I think we all are)
    Just make sure you have a solid firewall and good AV along with your AS apps
    and everythings always updated.
    A layered approach IMO is the way to go without overlaping.:thumb:
    Good luck with whatever you go with and happy(safe) surfing.:cool:
     
  14. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I only use on KAV realtime for all that. Other scanners like a-squared, superantispyware, and avg antispyware never find anything on my system.

    dja2k
     
  15. SPRINTMAN

    SPRINTMAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    I have the new Counterspy 2.5 on this work PC but SUPERAntispyware still finds stuff every day. I think SAS is tougher IMO.
     
  16. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country

    Does Kav realtime ever find anything ? - cookies don't count
     
  17. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Yes as a matter of fact KAV has found some and good thing is that it finds them while downloading, pretty good. If its not while downloading, its while installing. Example, Nero has a toolbar that wants to install when you run the setup, though you can deny it there, but automatically (I have it set up like that) KAV will remove its setup from the temp folder.

    dja2k
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.