3.1 Cannot update. Proxy Authentication option??

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by access.denied, Jun 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. access.denied

    access.denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Hi there. Like many, I really love the new Spywareblaster 3.1. However, no matter how much I tweaked with the web update proxy settings, I could not get connected to the Spywareblaster server.

    I've tried all possible settings and I realize that perhaps the culprit is most likely the fact that my proxy requires me to authenticate with an username and password. How do I do this with Spaywareblaster3.1?

    If it cannot be done, can the updated protection defiitions be downloaded manually and installed?

    Thank you all in advanced.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2004
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey a.d.,

    This is from the....SpywareBlaster Troubleshooting: Sticky
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    As Bubba posted, there is a manual updating method available.

    Unfortunately at this point in time, SpywareBlaster (3.1) does not support proxy authentication, but it is on the "to-do" list for a future version. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  4. access.denied

    access.denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you all for your help.

    I've tried clicking on the URL links to the db files Bubba provided, however, I think they are no longer valid since spywareblaster has moved its home to javacool.com instead of the old spywareblaster.net address.

    When I subsituted in javacool.com, and typed in the url into my browser, my browser opened up the content of the db files instead of saving them. How can I save the files?

    Thank you again!
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Whoops!

    The correct links are as follows:

    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/sbdatabase.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/sbdatabase2.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/sbinfo.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/ckdatabase.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/rsdatabase.dtb

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2004
  6. bfcmt6

    bfcmt6 Guest

    These new links don't work, either. Any ideas?
     
  7. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    They don't work in what way exactly? I just checked these and each of those 5 links does indeed point to and provide for download each SpywareBlaster update file. So, what specifically is the problem you are seeing?

    The links themselves don't resolve for you? You get the 5 files but they don't work right when you move them to the SpywareBlaster folder?

    The best way to get those files is to right-click on each link, one at a time, and do as Save Target As... to copy each file to a folder on your system. (In each Save as dialog, you should set: Save as type: "All files") When you have all the files, make sure you've closed SpywareBlaster then move the files to the SpywareBlaster folder - overwriting the existing ones. Open SpywareBlaster and it should be updated.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.