2nd hard drive question

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Brian Johnson, Oct 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi, not sure where to put this question, so I hope this is the right place.

I am still somewhat new to seting up hard drives, so I am not an expert.

Here's my question.

I have 2 80 gig hard drives and my motherboard has 2 connectors for two hard drives to be plugged in separately. So would it be better to use each hard drive in each connector or set them up as master and slave drives?

I don't really know how to set them up as master/slave, so I thought maybe using the two separate connectors on my motherboard would be easier.

Is there any advantage to using the 2 separate connectors over the master/slave setup? Or is the master/slave setup the best/fastest way to go?

What I want to do is have Windows XP on one drive and on the second have Windows ME, but still be able to send data from one drive to the next. I also would probably want to use one drive to store Ghost images of the main drive on (probably Ghost images of XP only).

My motherboard is an MSI K7n2. Athlon xp 2100. 512mb ram. With ide1 and ide2 connectors for 2 separate hard drives to connect to the motherboard.

Thanks very much for any assistance.

2. nod32_9

nod32_9 Guest

You have two IDE channels. Each channel can support two devices. It's best to put the hard drives on one channel, and optical drives on the other channel. Set the jumper on the back of each hard drive to Cable Select mode. The hard drive connected to the far end of the IDE cable will be the master drive, and the other will be the slave drive.

A better strategy is to partition the master hard drive so you will have two primary C partitions (one for WME and the other for WXP) and one extended logical partition D. Use FAT32 for all partitions. Put the data you want to share in the extended logical partition D. Use the boot loader to switch between WME and WXP.