230 items disabled in Firefox

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by george75, Dec 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. george75

    george75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Hi guys!

    For the past year or two I have had a problem in that Spywareblaster always has 230 items disabled in Firefox, no matter what I do. This has survived updates of the program and even a shift to a new computer running Win 7 (the old computer ran XP Pro SP3 etc).

    I see that Avira might be a culprit or Spybot or Spywaresweeper, but I use Avast and now Adaware (formerly on the XP machine, no Adaware).

    I've uploaded a screen capture of the problem, below.

    What do I do?

    UPDATE: I see that the problem is analyzed to be something about remembering site preferences in Firefox. I made the recommended changes; we'll see if they work. Forum Administrator: delete this thread if you want.


    UPDATE 2: I made the recommended changes to Firefox settings concerning 'site preferences' both in 'clear history' and in 'options'. When I checked again after a suspend, Firefox settings were okay but for the first time EVER, IE and Restricted Sites showed a slew of disabled settings. The treatment is worse than the disease.

    UPDATE 3: I checked after a full power-off and re-boot. For the moment everything is as it should be. To be continued...

    What do I do?

    Thanks,

    George
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 21, 2010
  2. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Try doing this. In Firefox Tools, Clear Recent History, try unchecking the Site Preferences so it is not cleared.

    edit - Never mind see you tried that.
     
  3. razorboy

    razorboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Posts:
    158
    Location:
    North
    I have exactly the same problem, 230 items, etc.. Why 230? Anyway, I did the uncheck thing, we'll see if it works after reboot.
     
  4. rzn6jw

    rzn6jw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    230 Firefox sites always come up unrestricted

    This just started happening - 230 Firefox sites come up unrestricted. I've followed the instructions in the other threads regarding site preferences, un-installed Spyware Blaster and reinstalled 4.4, and loaded the most current database. I've updated Firefox to the latest version but whenever I start Spyware Blaster, those same 230 sites come up unrestricted (Firefox doesn't even have to be running).

    The only way I can run Firefox and have everything stay restricted is to start Spyware Blaster, enable all restrictions and start Firefox, leaving Spyware Blaster running.

    Is there any permanent solution?
     
  5. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
  6. rzn6jw

    rzn6jw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Followed instructions again, making sure to reboot afterwards. Started Spyware Blaster after reboot and all items marked 'restricted'. Started Firefox and 230 sites became 'unrestricted'.

    I am also running Norton Internet Security 2011 and Ad-Aware v8.1.4 on a Windows 7 64-bit Pro OS.
     
  7. rzn6jw

    rzn6jw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I found that disabling/uninstalling 'Anonymizer Nevercookie v0.1' by Geoffrey Abbott (a Firefox add-on) completely stopped these items from being disabled.

    Since I disabled the add-on, I have not had any items in SpyWare Blaster that were disabled.

    Check your Firefox add-ons.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.