2 quick questions

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by angus49, May 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    First, ZA pops up a box on every start up asking for permission for FD-ISR to act as a server. Why does it need to act as a server? Up to now I have always denied permission and have had no froblems with my images.

    Secondly, I read a notation in the read me file for version 3.2 that registry cleaners should not be used with FD-ISR. Is this something new in this version? I have used reg cleaners for the past year with FD-ISR version 1.73 and have no adverse affects on my back-ups.

    Thanks for any help,

    Ed
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    finish the sentence: "...should not be used to delete registry keys associated with FirstDefense-ISR"

    So far my choice of registry cleaner, System TuneUp, has not caused problems.
     
  3. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    Thanks for the reply. I was working from memory of the text file entry, which evidently isn't too good anymore, when I asked about the reg cleaners.

    Do you have any info on the need for FD wanting to act as a server?

    Ed
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  5. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    Thanks again. So it's only wanting to act as server if you are storing image archives to a remote server? I deny server permission, yet it is still always listening on port 48288. If I block this in my firewall, should not be a problem then?

    Ed
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    My firewall blocked it (accidently?) and it hasnt caused any problems.
     
  7. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    WSFuser,

    Thanks for all of your input. You cleared up what I needed to know, as you usually do.

    I noticed you have a link to nLite in your signature. I checked it out and it looks interesting, but it is only for XP Pro? I run "Home SP2b".

    Thanks

    Ed
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    no problem

    as for nlite it is meant for 2000/xp/2003.
     
  9. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    No, port 48288 has nothing to do with storing image archives to a remote server.

    From the FirstDefense-ISR (Version 3.20 Build 202) Help file...

    FirstDefense-ISR > Help > FirstDefense-ISR Manual > Contents > Command Line Interface > How do I Remote Control FirstDefence-ISR...

    (My bolding and red)

    Mike
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.