2 quick questions

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by angus49, May 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    First, ZA pops up a box on every start up asking for permission for FD-ISR to act as a server. Why does it need to act as a server? Up to now I have always denied permission and have had no froblems with my images.

    Secondly, I read a notation in the read me file for version 3.2 that registry cleaners should not be used with FD-ISR. Is this something new in this version? I have used reg cleaners for the past year with FD-ISR version 1.73 and have no adverse affects on my back-ups.

    Thanks for any help,

    Ed
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    finish the sentence: "...should not be used to delete registry keys associated with FirstDefense-ISR"

    So far my choice of registry cleaner, System TuneUp, has not caused problems.
     
  3. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    Thanks for the reply. I was working from memory of the text file entry, which evidently isn't too good anymore, when I asked about the reg cleaners.

    Do you have any info on the need for FD wanting to act as a server?

    Ed
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  5. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    Thanks again. So it's only wanting to act as server if you are storing image archives to a remote server? I deny server permission, yet it is still always listening on port 48288. If I block this in my firewall, should not be a problem then?

    Ed
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    My firewall blocked it (accidently?) and it hasnt caused any problems.
     
  7. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    WSFuser,

    Thanks for all of your input. You cleared up what I needed to know, as you usually do.

    I noticed you have a link to nLite in your signature. I checked it out and it looks interesting, but it is only for XP Pro? I run "Home SP2b".

    Thanks

    Ed
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    no problem

    as for nlite it is meant for 2000/xp/2003.
     
  9. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    No, port 48288 has nothing to do with storing image archives to a remote server.

    From the FirstDefense-ISR (Version 3.20 Build 202) Help file...

    FirstDefense-ISR > Help > FirstDefense-ISR Manual > Contents > Command Line Interface > How do I Remote Control FirstDefence-ISR...

    (My bolding and red)

    Mike
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.