2 problems - 2 questions

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Bella Furia, Apr 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bella Furia

    Bella Furia Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    Hi,

    first excuse my poor english !
    I try to explain what are my problems :
    i am under W98SE and I have used nod32 for about 2 years and I always had these 2 problems; but they finally do not prevent nod32 from correctly functioning for me :

    > when i want to make a scan on demand , i obtain a "blue screen" windows with this message :
    "une erreur fatale 0C est apparue à EC99:00001429.L'application va se terminer."
    I am obliged of make all my scans under DOS and it's working good.

    > sometimes, i have a problem on boot ; bootlog.txt says : "INITCOMPLETEFAILED=AMON" ; what is the signification ?

    in spite of that, I keep nod32 because I do not have a problem of virus !!

    thanks for the answers !

    BF
     
  2. extratime

    extratime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Sounds like you have a bad install of NOD32, especially if AMON (the most important module) is failing to initialize at times.

    I would uninstall NOD32. Then download and run CCleaner:
    http://www.ccleaner.com/

    This should remove any remaining program fragments, plus junk left over from previous unintalls. It might also eliminate the source of other OS conflicts.

    Then download a fresh copy of NOD32 and install. Scroll down for the appropriate language.
    http://www.eset.com/download/registered_software.php


    Also advise you to configure with Blackspear's settings:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=131758

    Then run a scan and see how it goes.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2007
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    How much RAM does your system have?

    Have you run a RAM check?

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Bella Furia

    Bella Furia Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    hi,

    thank you very much for the answers

    in fact, when i want to launch a "big scan" , the windows appears and it seems that it crashes at the "analyse of the memory" (the beginning of the scan !) ;

    i can see : "analyse de la mémoire...." and ..crash with blue screen and the message that i note above (EC99...)

    o_O
    thank you

    BF
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Sounds like you have faulty RAM. I would try swapping out your RAM to see if the problem goes away.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. Bella Furia

    Bella Furia Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    thank you for the help !

    > before Nod32, i had Norton Anti-virus ; i cleaned all the traces with CCleaner and also with JV16 and also with the Norton Removal Tools (for NAV2003 and W98SE) ; but, perhaps there is still trace of NAV in memory and this makes conflict ?

    > configuration of "my" RAM (with System Info) :

    Property Value
    Memory Summary
    Location System board or motherboard
    Maximum Capacity 4096 MBytes
    Memory Slots 4
    Error Correction None
    Use System memory
    Maximum Memory Module Size 1024 MBytes


    Device Locator Slot 1
    Manufacturer Dane-Elec (C Memory)
    Part Number D1D400-064643I
    Serial Number 00000000
    Capacity 512 MBytes
    Memory Type SDRAM DDR
    Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
    Data Width 64 bits
    Voltage SSTL 2.5V
    Error Correction None
    Refresh Reduced (.5x)...7.8 µs
    Manufacturing Date 2006, Week 5
    EPP SPD Support No


    Device Locator Slot 3
    Serial Number 00000000
    Capacity 256 MBytes
    Memory Type SDRAM DDR
    Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
    Data Width 64 bits
    Voltage SSTL 2.5V
    Error Correction None
    Refresh Reduced (.5x)...7.8 µs
    Manufacturing Date N/A
    EPP SPD Support No


    Device Locator Slot 4
    Serial Number 00000000
    Capacity 256 MBytes
    Memory Type SDRAM DDR
    Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
    Data Width 64 bits
    Voltage SSTL 2.5V
    Error Correction None
    Refresh Reduced (.5x)...7.8 µs
    Manufacturing Date N/A
    EPP SPD Support No

    Warning! Accuracy of DMI data cannot be guaranteed=


    > can you explain me , what means "try swapping out your RAM "?

    BF
     
  7. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    It means either replacing the memory you have with other memory that you know is good. Or, changing the order of how the memory is located in the slots available on the motherboard. Before you do that, if you would, could you please tell me how much memory your system shows as having in System properties. Right click on My Computer then left click on Properties.
     
  8. Bella Furia

    Bella Furia Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    hi ThunderZ,

    the answer is "1021.0 Mo RAM"

    thank you
     
  9. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    hmmm.....Was just curious as to why you were using slots 1,3 and 4 instead of 1,2 and 3. Also curious as to why it is arranged as 512 in slot 1 and 256 in slot 3 and slot 4. Do you get errors when doing anything else, running any other programs? One other question, is the memory all of the same type, from the same manufacturer?
     
  10. Bella Furia

    Bella Furia Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    my children say that i'm a "newbee" !!!! hum...

    i don't know !!

    i don't know

    another look with FreshDiagnose :

    Memory
    This module contains information about memory controller and memory modules in your system.



    32-bit Memory Error
    Error Type Unknown
    Error Granularity Unknown
    Error Operation Unknown Operation
    Vendor Syndrome Unknown ($0)
    Memory Array Address Unknown
    Device Error Address Unknown
    Error Resolution Unknown

    Physical Memory Array
    Location Motherboard
    Use System Memory
    Memory Error Correction None
    Maximum Capacity None
    Number of Slots / Sockets 4
    Memory Error Info Handle $38

    Memory Array Mapped Address
    Starting Address $00000000
    Ending Address $3FFFFC00
    Memory Array Handle $39
    Partition Width 4

    Memory Device
    Memory Array Handle $39
    Memory Error Info Handle $38
    Total Width 64 Bits
    Data Width 64 Bits
    Memory Size 512 MB
    Form Factor DIMM
    Device Set Not part of a set
    Device Locator J5G1
    Bank Locator CHANNEL A DIMM0
    Type Detail Synchronous
    Memory Speed 333 MHz
    Manufacturer Manufacturer1
    Serial Number SerNum1
    Asset Tag AssetTagNum1
    Part Number PartNum1

    Memory Device Mapped Address
    Starting Address $00000000
    Ending Address $1FFFFC00
    Memory Device Handle $3B
    Memory Array Mapped Address Handle $3A
    Partition Row Position 1
    Interleave Position 0
    Interleaved Data Depth 0

    Memory Device
    Memory Array Handle $39
    Memory Error Info Handle $38
    Total Width 64 Bits
    Data Width 64 Bits
    Memory Size 0 MB
    Form Factor DIMM
    Device Set Not part of a set
    Device Locator J5G2
    Bank Locator CHANNEL A DIMM1
    Type Detail Synchronous
    Memory Speed 333 MHz
    Manufacturer Manufacturer2
    Serial Number SerNum2
    Asset Tag AssetTagNum2
    Part Number PartNum2

    Memory Device
    Memory Array Handle $39
    Memory Error Info Handle $38
    Total Width 64 Bits
    Data Width 64 Bits
    Memory Size 256 MB
    Form Factor DIMM
    Device Set Not part of a set
    Device Locator J5H1
    Bank Locator CHANNEL B DIMM2
    Type Detail Synchronous
    Memory Speed 333 MHz
    Manufacturer Manufacturer3
    Serial Number SerNum3
    Asset Tag AssetTagNum3
    Part Number PartNum3

    Memory Device Mapped Address
    Starting Address $20000000
    Ending Address $2FFFFC00
    Memory Device Handle $3F
    Memory Array Mapped Address Handle $3A
    Partition Row Position 1
    Interleave Position 0
    Interleaved Data Depth 0

    Memory Device
    Memory Array Handle $39
    Memory Error Info Handle $38
    Total Width 64 Bits
    Data Width 64 Bits
    Memory Size 256 MB
    Form Factor DIMM
    Device Set Not part of a set
    Device Locator J5H2
    Bank Locator CHANNEL B DIMM3
    Type Detail Synchronous
    Memory Speed 333 MHz
    Manufacturer Manufacturer4
    Serial Number SerNum4
    Asset Tag AssetTagNum4
    Part Number PartNum4

    Memory Device Mapped Address
    Starting Address $30000000
    Ending Address $3FFFFC00
    Memory Device Handle $41
    Memory Array Mapped Address Handle $3A
    Partition Row Position 1
    Interleave Position 0
    Interleaved Data Depth 0


    _______________________________________________________________________________
    Generated by FreshDiagnose (c) 2007, FreshDevices, Corp.
    lundi, avr. 9, 2007 03:45:37 pm


    i just know to make logs !!!:)
     
  11. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    No problem, we were all newbees at one time. ;)
    Your memory does seem to have a problem. At this point it depends on how far\hard you would like to pursue the problem. I do not see where the particular stick of RAM causing the error is identified. If you are comfortable with opening up the case of your computer then you could pull out all but the stick of memory in slot 1 and repeat the test. Then remove the the stick from slot 1 and put the stick that was in slot 2 into slot one and run the test. Then do the same with the stick from slot 3. (while you are running these tests be aware that your PC will probably run noticeably slower with the reduced memory). When the error shows up again you should know which stick of memory is is giving you the error, going bad. At that point you should be able to get it replaced by the manufacturer. Most major memory makers have a life time warranty.
     
  12. extratime

    extratime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Swapping out your RAM means taking out one or more of the current RAM modules, and depending on system requirements putting in new ones.

    In your case you actually have 3 modules already (one of 512 MB and two of 256 MB), so it should be easier for you to figure out which one (if any) is faulty.

    First remove one of 256 MB modules. Then try to run the scan. If the scan still fails then that is probably not the faulty module. If the scan is successful then that is may well be a faulty module.

    If necessary repeat the process with the other 256 MB module, and then the 512 module. Basically trial and error to see if one or more of the modules if faulty.

    EDIT: seems that ThunderZ posted a reply while I was composing this.
     
  13. Bella Furia

    Bella Furia Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    ThunderZ and ExtraTime : thank you for your posts to help me

    I await this week a friend who will help me for this handling !!
    I will keep you informed as soon as it is done.

    Is that can explain "INITCOMPLETEFAILED=AMON" in my bootlog.txt ?

    By then, spend a good week and thank you still for your availability.

    BF
     
  14. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    You are very welcome. We\or others will be around to assist and hopefully solve the problem. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.