2 odd files

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by nokryptonite, Apr 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nokryptonite

nokryptonite Registered Member

Hi all.. hope this is the right place to post as I am new to all of this..

OS windows vista

found two files today in a directory called "My Data Sources"

they are named

+NewSQLServerConnection

and

*Connect to new Data Source

they both seem to be excell files but I get a security warning about connection when I try to open them (from excel itself)

I am suspicious becasue both files have creation dates of 2000 (on brand new machine)

I recently installed Office 2007.. not sure what gives here.. any suggestions?

Sound fishy?

2. MICRO

MICRO Registered Member

Each of those items appears to be related to Office/Excel
    and I can't see anything re. them being fishy malware of any kind.

Maybe someone can tell more re. their usefulness.

3. nokryptonite

Many thanks I deleted the files anyway with no seeming adverse effects. Thanks for checking it out for me. I also had a couple of questions about a windows defender alert regarding a file named wd.sys. A quick check online revealed that a "hax" trojan uses this file. Now I am wondering if this file is a standard windows file or what. Also while checking my event viewer I get this funny alert telling me that on shutdown my registry "leaked" a handle. Now I would not worry about this so much except that on shut down I have noticed some "unusual" behavior. It seems that every Icon I have clicked on my desktop gets quickly "reclicked" seconds before shut down. Just several quick flashed on all of the desktop icons I have used during the session. I was able to replicate this behavior on a similar machine at a store and was unsure of what it meant. any suggestions about these things or am I being overly paranoid?

4. MICRO

MICRO Registered Member

Nokrypt.,