2 bootable Windows XP clones on one hdd.. possible with Acronis?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pauleckstein, Apr 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pauleckstein

    pauleckstein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hello everybody,

    i have created 4 partitions on a single hard drive .

    on the first two partitions i would like to install windows xp twice, one for working with, and the second for operating in the spare time

    is it possible now, just to install once windows xp incl. setting up and clone that with the acronis products to the second partition? will it be still bootable?

    which acronic product should i take? Migrate Easy or True Image?


    best regards,
    Paul
     
  2. JRosenfeld

    JRosenfeld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Posts:
    117
    You may have trouble activating the second XP, unless you have two licenses.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Paul,

    You can have 100 WinXPs on your HD if you want. All bootable. All independent.

    Here is one way to do it.

    http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/index.htm

    You should have no activation issues. Microsoft doesn't mind dual boots. OS in Virtual Machines require a license.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2009
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    With a clone, it is one clone per drive.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    DwnNdrty,

    Good point. TI doesn't do partition clones.

    Paul, create an image of your OS and restore the image to the other partition.

    Edit... You should delete the target partition BEFORE creating the image of the OS. Restore into unallocated space. This avoids drive letter issues.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2009
  6. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    @Brian_K
    For my understanding:
    The prerequisite of your suggestion is (IMHO), that one partition with an OS has to be hidden always. Because both OS have drive letter "C :".
    Or have I been mistaken?

    I assume that Paul means 2 OS at the same time as a real multiboot (Paul has to confirm this).
    That requires an installation of the second OS (to a second partition) when OS1 (on the first partition) is visible.
    So the OS2 can get the next drive letter "D :".
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  8. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    I know this type of multiboot.
    But: I didn't know that bootmanager hides the non-choosen OS-partition.
    That explains everything. THX for the hint :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.