2 av's and 2at's at the same time

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by reynaerts, Feb 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reynaerts

    reynaerts Guest

    I wonder, I have intel P2-2.8 HT with 512 ddr at 400mhz. Is it possible to use 2av's and AT's at the same time. and which one should I consider. because when I read the superiour WILDERS forum, I see a lot of KAV IS PERFECT BUT A LOT OF IMPACT ON SYSTEM and NOD32 also good and few IMPACT ON SYSTEM;

    HAD ANY ONE TRIED TO USE 2 AV - complementary??
     
  2. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    2 av's are no problem as long there is only one as on-access scanner (guard) running. Main problem with most av's at the moment is that it takes some manual changes by the user (registry, services) to keep them running smoothly together.

    I for example use NOD32 as on-access scanner and KAV as on-demand. No problems (but before scanning with KAV you have to stop AMON otherwise the scans are taking endless times).

    wizard
     
  3. kloshar

    kloshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Europe, Slovenia, Bre?ice
    F-prot for windows + NOD32

    It works well.
     
  4. optimizer

    optimizer Guest

    thanx for reply. I installed KAV 4.5 pro as on access and nod32 as on demand. Seems to work flawless. very satisfied of both on them. I used to work with nav but I get some errors with messaging. I like to tweak so kaspersky is like the best av you can tweak.
    I am now searching for some extra antispyware utilities. I have PP, spycop, and spywareblocker. Does anyone can help me out?? thanx in advance
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
  6. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    in my experience its impossible to run the kav real time monitor if any other av is installed (even if its not running)

    wizard: shutting down amon is probably very easy, but if u want u can use nncron from http://www.nncron.ru/ and set it to automaticly terminate amon when the kav.exe is started. nncron is a fantastic little app. i use it for all kinds of stuff, for example to autoupdate my kav and drweb as soon as a connection is detected, and to autoterminate startupmonitor when i run defragmenter pro plus - cos dpp needs to add a startup entry to the registry..saves a few mouseclicks :)
     
  7. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Yes NOD32 is one of those programs that could be easy make "workable" with other AVs. I was just thinking more in the directions of such "nightmares" like McAfee (installation wise, not detection wise ;))

    wizard
     
  8. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    In my experience, KAV RTM is ok with another AV installed, but not ok when the other AV is scanning.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.