2.50.19 and Scheduled Task Problems

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Hexaguano, May 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    This thread is a continuation of the problems discussed in this thread.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=80978&page=2

    I and a few others have experienced problems with scheduled scans failing to run in v2.50.19. I thought it was limited to "Run as an external application" , but I am also finding that the "On demand Scanning" task is failing to run as well. The other tasks like "Nod32 Update" seem to be working OK.
     
  2. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I had some problems. I deleted all the sheduled tasks and then i added new ones. Now everything works fine.
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Hexaguano, have you tried following the the screenshots from post number 70 onwards, here.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Hi Blackspear

    Yes, that is how I have set up NOD. I have uninstalled/reinstalled twice to no avail. Maybe I should go back to .16 and see if the problem goes away.
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hexaguano, can you please post a screenshot of the final window, as per my screenshot below.

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Hi Blackspear

    I don't have access to the "problem PC" right now, but I did post my command line settings in post #44 of this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=80978&page=2

    My "On demand" scanning task (not using the start an external application) is not starting either. Run now works fine for both...
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I had a look at that as well, looks fine, when you have access to that machine can you please post a screenshot of each step you are taking as you set up the scan.

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Here are the screenshots you requested Blackspear.

    Step 1
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      50.7 KB
      Views:
      365
  9. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Step 2
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      46.9 KB
      Views:
      364
  10. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Step 3
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      43.8 KB
      Views:
      364
  11. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Step 4
     

    Attached Files:

    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      59 KB
      Views:
      359
  12. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Step 5
     

    Attached Files:

    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      57.7 KB
      Views:
      358
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Hexaguano, can you change step 4, to match my screenshot in Extra Settings, and can you also remove /quit+

    Make sure the scan runs by right clicking on the scheduled task when you have finished setting it up, then leave everything for 48 hours and see if it is on your screen when you wake the next day...

    Let me know how you go.

    Cheers :D
     
  14. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Will do Blackspear.

    FYI. I created a scheduled task that would run notepad.exe just to see if it would run. Same result. Right click "Run now" works fine. But the scheduled task wouldn't execute at the designated time...
     
  15. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    @Blackspear

    I tried your suggestion. The scheduled task still did not trigger.

    But, I am cautiously optimistic!

    On a whim, I tried setting up a scheduled task to run Weekly and checking every day of the week. The task has run 4X in a row!

    I then changed the task to run daily and it ran once then failed to trigger again. Set it back to weekly everyday, it has run 4X in a row again.

    Something appears to be wrong with the Daily Scheduled Tasks...
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I'll ask someone from Eset to take a look at this thread.

    Cheers :D
     
  17. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Thx Blackspear.

    Perhaps the "two pronged approach" will help reveal the answer ;) .

    I've had some correspondence with Eset regarding the matter but haven't received a reply from support regarding the latest findings.
     
  18. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    Hello Hexaguano,

    I've just tried to setup a scheduled scan, using the 'Daily' option, waited for it to run and all was fine. I also tried your Notepad test too, again no problems. Admittedly, I set the tasks to run in a few minutes time so I could see if it worked, rather than actually waiting till the next day. I'll leave both tasks set to run and see what happens tomorrow morning.

    Have you tried a clean reinstallation of 2.50.19?

    ...when did you email us and to what address please?

    Bandicoot.
     
  19. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Hi Bandicoot,

    That is essentially the same type of test I was doing and it would fail on my system every time. The 'Weekly' task with every day of the week checked seems to still be working.

    Yes, I have tried a clean installation (twice). Redownloaded, uninstalled the previous version, and deleted the Eset folder each time. However, I did not search for or delete any "left over" registry keys. Maybe I should ??
    Originally, I submitted the problem via the support form on the nod.com site. I didn't receive a reply for a day or two so I sent an email to support@eset.us and received a reply within a few hours. Haven't heard back regarding my latest findings (but it has only been about 14 hrs since I sent it).
     
  20. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    Hi Hexaguano,

    I don't think there should be any need to remove any registry entries from NOD32. Both the daily scheduled tasks that I set up yesterday, ran this morning on my machine. I still think a clean install should solve any corrupt files, but obviously I understand that you've tried this twice already. What is the current state of affairs on your machine?

    Bandicoot. :doubt:
     
  21. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Bandicoot

    Tasks that were scheduled using the weekly method with every day checked are still working fine (as are the event triggered and hourly tasks). I again tried adding a task using the daily method and again it failed (several times). I captured some registry activity log files for both the successful and unsuccessful tasks and sent them to eset for analyis. I haven't heard back from them yet (I only sent them yesterday) but maybe there is a clue in there somewhere...
     
  22. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Did you send them to support@nod32.com with a link to this thread. If not, can you please do so.

    Cheers :D
     
  23. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Hi Blackspear

    No I sent them to the eset.us address. I received a reply that the log files were forwarded to the QA lab, but, as you suggested, I went ahead and sent them to the nod32.com address as well. I guess it won't hurt...

    Thanks!
     
  24. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    That's where Bandicoot will read your email.

    Cheers :D
     
  25. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Ahh. OK. Good.

    Well may the ole 'coot can help shed some light on what the heck is going on.
    I have two licenses, but have been hesitant to "upgrade" my other box due to the issues experienced on this one.

    I really appreciate the help from everyone!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.