1Tetra wester digital or seagate,which drive would you buy?

Discussion in 'hardware' started by mantra, Mar 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

mantra Registered Member

Hi
    i would like to buy a 1Tetra hard disk internal

which drive would you buy?

i know nothing about hard disk
    i guess they are trusty but i know nothing else

thanks

Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  2. firzen771

firzen771 Registered Member

i own both a seagate and WD drive, ive been running a 500gb Seagate in my system for about 3 years without any probs and recently got a WD drive for my external hard drive thats working great as well, but tbh u shuld be fine with either brand at least in my experience.

3. mantra

mantra Registered Member

thanks

4. firzen771

firzen771 Registered Member

no problem :)

5. Comp01

Comp01 Registered Member

I prefer Seagate because every WD drive I've ever had has died in 1-2 years, where as I've had legacy systems running Seagate drives to this date from 1993-94, and WD has always given me trouble with returns too. I just have had better experience with Seagate personally, maybe its just the cases I've run into, but every WD drive I've had has ended up failing pre-maturely.

6. Antarctica

Antarctica Registered Member

I guess there is a question of luck because I have the exact opposite experience. My last Seagate died after 1 and half year...Now I have 2x WD since three years and no problems so far...

It's like cars, some people have bad experience with GM, some with Chrysler and some even with BMW.:doubt:

7. bgoodman4

bgoodman4 Registered Member

My experience with WD has been very positive. I have external portables that are 5 years old and running strong, I alswo have 2 terabyte externals that have been in use for over 2 years and not a single problem.

8. Dr33

Dr33 Registered Member