1722

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Meriadoc, Mar 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    xpprosp3
    SATA


    So I decided to install the new 3.3...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Installing FDISR from the command line with a switch to make a log file I can see the errors. Is Todd still about?

    edit: I've found the isrsetup log.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    This might seem a bit obvious: any residuals from something else on that C ??
    New set-up??
    Single partition??
    Naked XP ??
    FixMBR ??

    PM to the boot meister: Pandlouk ?

    Heh: Reinstall XP??
    Use XPSP2 and then upgrade ?? ;)

    o_O
    Delete the boot files (they may be hidden) and then use FDisk.
    Start FDisk and issue this command: FDisk /mbr

    LOL: You??: BIOS rootkit ??
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
  4. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi Lb, thanks for a reply and your on the right track with one of the suggestions I imagine. I beginning to think its some remnant or incompatibility as huh I've had a look at everything, really annoyed me this has.
     
  5. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    The problem is right there in the quote above, but what's causing this, something I'm overlooking - atm, stumped.
     
  6. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Fixed - close if you wish.
     
  7. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Hi Meriadoc,

    I'm happy to see that you succeeded in taking care of your "1722" problem. But, before the tread's closed, can I ask you if you could satisfy my curiosity by elaborating a bit on the resolution path you had to fellow (just hope you did not have to rebuild from system scratch/backup...)?

    TIA
     
  8. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Shhhh its embarrassing.


    yeah I suppose I should of expanded the post somewhat...

    Its nothing really special, I don't know how it happened, I've certainly racked my brain over it but somehow I've a hidden partition that wasn't showing up in my trusty Paragon Partition Manager 8 that obviously stopped the install. I just happened to be working with a linux cd and there it was staring me in the face. Checked it over with WinHex and removed it and went on to install classic FD. :oops:
     
  9. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    hehe, all's well then. And if we ever encounter this error 1722 message we will now have to remember to check for some partitioning boogaloos ;) .

    Thanks for your fellow up.
     
  10. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    So nice to have FD-ISR running again, original (consolidated) version.

    Except for Server I hadn't used FD for awhile but still using a hardware ISR type attached to the motherboard and hard disk which after nearly 9 years of use gave up, which is one of the reasons why I wanted to use FD Pro on one of my workstations again.

    Seeing that I expect to use XP for quite awhile yet and using the simple hack for Windows 7 I think the original FD will be around for a long time.
     
  11. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @meriadoc:
    LOL, that was a bit erm: short ?

    'the old secret partition" issue eh? ;)

    @ruinebabine: nice to see u still around.

    Echo that :)

    I will actually pay for a new FD-R licence: because of one of pandlouks earlier posts re 'support' and the "future"
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1642683&postcount=78
    :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
  12. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Mmm, I have no problem with that and often done this in the past. As I'm just lying here trying to get better with just my laptop and not much else to do I shall place the order right now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.