169.254.X.X Problem!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by hassanalauddin, May 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hassanalauddin

    hassanalauddin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Hello! I have problem with my Dsl connection. It doesn't get the ip address and after long time of acquiring ip address, it just comes up with the default 169.254.x.x address. For other problem i reinstalled my windows XP, but even then the problem is there. I am posting the results of help and support centre network diagnostics. Please see and tell me what should be it's solution. I have been working hard on this but to no success. please solve this issue.

    Network Diagnostics


    Network Diagnostics scans your system to gather information about your hardware, software, and network connections.
    Tell me about Network Diagnostics

    Scan your system
    Set scanning options
    99%




    Default Outlook Express Mail Not Configured
    Default Outlook Express News Not Configured
    Internet Explorer Web Proxy Not Configured


    Network Adapters FAILED
    [00458755] WAN Miniport (IP) (FAILED)
    Caption = [00458755] WAN Miniport (IP)
    DatabasePath = %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers\etc
    DefaultIPGateway = 10.221.82.28(Same Subnet) (PASSED)
    Pinging 10.221.82.28 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Ping statistics for 10.221.82.28:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    Description = WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    DHCPEnabled = FALSE
    DNSEnabledForWINSResolution = FALSE
    DNSHostName = hassan
    DNSServerSearchOrder (PASSED)
    212.88.64.14 (PASSED)
    Pinging 212.88.64.14 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 212.88.64.14: bytes=32 time=96ms TTL=96
    Reply from 212.88.64.14: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=95
    Reply from 212.88.64.14: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=95
    Reply from 212.88.64.14: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=85
    Ping statistics for 212.88.64.14:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 85ms, Maximum = 96ms, Average = 92ms
    212.242.40.3 (PASSED)
    Pinging 212.242.40.3 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 212.242.40.3: bytes=32 time=87ms TTL=87
    Reply from 212.242.40.3: bytes=32 time=87ms TTL=87
    Reply from 212.242.40.3: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=77
    Reply from 212.242.40.3: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=86
    Ping statistics for 212.242.40.3:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 77ms, Maximum = 87ms, Average = 84ms
    DomainDNSRegistrationEnabled = FALSE
    FullDNSRegistrationEnabled = FALSE
    GatewayCostMetric = 1
    Index = 458755
    IPAddress = 10.221.82.28 (PASSED)
    Pinging 10.221.82.28 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Ping statistics for 10.221.82.28:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    IPConnectionMetric = 50
    IPEnabled = TRUE
    IPFilterSecurityEnabled = FALSE
    IPSubnet = 255.255.255.255
    IPXEnabled = FALSE
    MACAddress = 00:53:45:00:00:00
    ServiceName = NdisWan
    TcpipNetbiosOptions = 2
    WINSEnableLMHostsLookup = TRUE
    WINSPrimaryServer = 10.11.12.13 (FAILED)
    Pinging 10.11.12.13 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 10.11.12.13:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    WINSSecondaryServer = 10.11.12.14 (FAILED)
    Pinging 10.11.12.14 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 10.11.12.14:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    [00000009] Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet (PASSED)
    Caption = [00000009] Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
    DatabasePath = %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers\etc
    Description = Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet #2 - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    DHCPEnabled = TRUE
    DHCPLeaseExpires = 5:14:07 AM 1/19/2038
    DHCPLeaseObtained = 1:24:28 AM 5/30/2010
    DHCPServer = 255.255.255.255(Invalid IP Address)
    DNSEnabledForWINSResolution = FALSE
    DNSHostName = hassan
    DomainDNSRegistrationEnabled = FALSE
    FullDNSRegistrationEnabled = TRUE
    Index = 9
    IPAddress = 169.254.150.102 (PASSED)
    Pinging 169.254.150.102 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 169.254.150.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 169.254.150.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 169.254.150.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 169.254.150.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Ping statistics for 169.254.150.102:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    IPConnectionMetric = 20
    IPEnabled = TRUE
    IPFilterSecurityEnabled = FALSE
    IPSubnet = 255.255.0.0
    IPXEnabled = FALSE
    MACAddress = 00:23:5A:D9:22:83
    ServiceName = b57w2k
    SettingID = {B80E7090-3414-40FF-BEB6-E3BE70A8CB7A}
    TcpipNetbiosOptions = 0
    WINSEnableLMHostsLookup = TRUE
    [00000011] Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Caption = [00000011] Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    DatabasePath = %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers\etc
    Description = Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN Card - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    DHCPEnabled = TRUE
    DHCPLeaseExpires = 3:55:07 PM 5/29/2010
    DHCPLeaseObtained = 2:55:07 PM 5/29/2010
    DNSEnabledForWINSResolution = FALSE
    DNSHostName = hassan
    DomainDNSRegistrationEnabled = FALSE
    FullDNSRegistrationEnabled = TRUE
    Index = 11
    IPConnectionMetric = 1
    IPEnabled = TRUE
    IPFilterSecurityEnabled = FALSE
    IPXEnabled = FALSE
    MACAddress = 00:24:2C:60:35:3E
    ServiceName = RT80x86
    SettingID = {35CF8C36-F6AC-4ABA-B276-646D3BF727BD}
    TcpipNetbiosOptions = 0
    WINSEnableLMHostsLookup = TRUE
    DNS Servers PASSED
    [00458755] WAN Miniport (IP) (PASSED)
    DNSServerSearchOrder (PASSED)
    212.88.64.14 (PASSED)
    Pinging 212.88.64.14 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 212.88.64.14: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=94
    Reply from 212.88.64.14: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=94
    Reply from 212.88.64.14: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=94
    Reply from 212.88.64.14: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=84
    Ping statistics for 212.88.64.14:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 84ms, Maximum = 94ms, Average = 91ms
    212.242.40.3 (PASSED)
    Pinging 212.242.40.3 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 212.242.40.3: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=77
    Reply from 212.242.40.3: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=86
    Reply from 212.242.40.3: bytes=32 time=76ms TTL=76
    Reply from 212.242.40.3: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=85
    Ping statistics for 212.242.40.3:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 76ms, Maximum = 86ms, Average = 81ms
    Default Gateways PASSED
    [00458755] WAN Miniport (IP) (PASSED)
    DefaultIPGateway = 10.221.82.28(Same Subnet) (PASSED)
    Pinging 10.221.82.28 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Ping statistics for 10.221.82.28:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    DHCP Servers
    [00000009] Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
    DHCPServer = 255.255.255.255(Invalid IP Address)
    IP Address PASSED
    [00458755] WAN Miniport (IP) (PASSED)
    IPAddress = 10.221.82.28 (PASSED)
    Pinging 10.221.82.28 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 10.221.82.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Ping statistics for 10.221.82.28:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    [00000009] Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet (PASSED)
    IPAddress = 169.254.150.102 (PASSED)
    Pinging 169.254.150.102 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 169.254.150.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 169.254.150.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 169.254.150.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 169.254.150.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Ping statistics for 169.254.150.102:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    WINS Servers FAILED
    [00458755] WAN Miniport (IP) (FAILED)

    WINSPrimaryServer = 10.11.12.13 (FAILED)
    Pinging 10.11.12.13 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 10.11.12.13:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    WINSSecondaryServer = 10.11.12.14 (FAILED)
    Pinging 10.11.12.14 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 10.11.12.14:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    Network Clients
    Microsoft Terminal Services
    Description = RDPNP
    Manufacturer = Microsoft Corporation
    Name = Microsoft Terminal Services
    Status = Unknown
    Microsoft Windows Network
    Caption = Workstation
    Description = Creates and maintains client network connections to remote servers. If this service is stopped, these connections will be unavailable. If this service is disabled, any services that explicitly depend on it will fail to start.
    Manufacturer = Microsoft Corporation
    Name = Microsoft Windows Network
    Status = OK
    Web Client Network
    Caption = WebClient
    Description = Enables Windows-based programs to create, access, and modify Internet-based files. If this service is stopped, these functions will not be available. If this service is disabled, any services that explicitly depend on it will fail to start.
    Manufacturer = Microsoft Corporation
    Name = Web Client Network
    Status = OK
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    If you have a router, change the network adapter to a static ip. Most routers are address 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1. So you might change your computers static ip address to 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.2.2, respectively.

    Ping the router then (ping 192.168.x.1). A reply then proves your LAN is working properly.

    Find your dns addresses, or use one like open dns. You can even use another local ISPs dns address if you need. Put these manually into the network adapters dns address settings. Now ping google.com or something, to see if you can travel outside the router.

    It might be that your router does not have the correct addressing. My ip is static, but many are dynamic. Some ISPs require your router to know your accounts username/password before you are given a WAN ip, some just require you to put some more basic info in place.

    The point is, start with verifying your network adapter is performing correctly by giving it a static ip. If it works, then move to internet. If internet works, your problem likely is due to the router not assigning your computer an ip when you are set to dhcp instead of static.

    169.154.x.x generally means you don't have connectivity to the router to actually get an ip address. Suspect a bad cable or incorrect router settings.

    Sul.
     
  3. hassanalauddin

    hassanalauddin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for your reply Sul!
    I have tried to do what u told but it didn't work. The local area networking icon shows that it is connected but not receiving bytes. I have two laptop connected to this router. One is working fine on it but my laptop isn't connecting at the same time. I have tried switching cables also but it also didn't worked. What can you suggest now?

    Regards
    Hassan
     
  4. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    To clear matters, one computer connects to the router without issue? Via cable or wireless?
    The computer with problems, with a static ip in the same addressing as the router connects, but does not have any traffic passing?
    The cable has been switched with a known good cable?
    Are either computer working by themselves, just when the two connect together that the problem arises? Can the working computer connect fine and at the same time the non working computer have its problems?

    If the NIC connects, but does not recieve/send traffic, it might be a firewall issue.

    It might be drivers, although if it was working and now is not, that might not be the answer.

    It might be a bad port in the router. Try the exact same port on the two.

    You might also give each computer a static ip (ie. 192.168.1.4 and 192.168.1.5) both on subnet 255.255.255.0. Then place a crossover cable between them or use a hub. Some gigabit NICs are capable of auto crossover. This will determine if the bad NIC can communicate at all, and takes the router out of the equation. Pinging the other computer when directly connected will verify this. A hub or switch will work too as long as you set the static ips on each computer properly.

    If you cannot get the bad NIC to do anything, I would suggest uninstalling it and reinstalling, or check updated drivers. If it still does not work, ask to borrow a PCI NIC from someone. An older intel card should be easy to locate, any computer from about 1995-2000 is likely to have one.

    Your goal is to strip it down to the bottom. Does the NIC work with a known good device, such as the other computer? If it does, work up from there, by introducing the router. Somewhere you must determine the faulty hardware, and it is always best to get rid of peripherals when testing. One by one you eliminate them.

    Setting the IPs to static and turning off firewalls is the first step, now you know that they SHOULD communicate, if they can.

    I strongly advise purchasing an Intel based NIC if you have to replace. My experience with many brands has been that none outperform, on a conistent basis, an Intel based NIC.

    Good luck.

    Sul.
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    hassan, can you just open a command line and type and enter: "ipconfig /all" (without quotes) and let us know what you get? If you see a Default gateway, can you ping it successfully? Sample screenshot attached. You supplied all that diagnostic info but I find it too overwhelming.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. hassanalauddin

    hassanalauddin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for both the users for trying to help me. I actually narrowed it down that when one computer is connected to it then it works fine but other cannot connect at the same time. If i want to connect the other one i have to release the ip address of first one and then the other computer works fine...

    What is the problem behind this and how it can be solved?
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Check the MAC (Physical) addresses on both and make sure they're not the same (they shouldn't be), otherwise they'll conflict. Also check they don't get the same ip addresses.
     
  8. hassanalauddin

    hassanalauddin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    the physical addresses are not same and ip addresses are different everytime. If this is the conflict then what's the solution to this problem?
    thanks
    Regards
    Hassan Alauddin
     
  9. tony62

    tony62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Hassan,

    What is the model number of this so called router? It sounds to me like it is not assigning the second IP address and could be that it is not a router or DHCP is not working correctly.

    Is it a router or a switch?
     
  10. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    tony's right I think about the router. Somewhere I've seen where if it's in bridge mode it will assign or pass only one ip.
     
  11. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Like I said, use static ip addresses in the routers subnet. A router is also a switch, so giving all computers a static ip tells you more of what is going on to find the problem. If the router gives both computers a dhcp address, then dhcp is working. You can set the number of dhcp addresses to give out, as well as the lease time. It sounds like it is set to give out more than one. There might be some settings that are only allowing one ip to access outbound at a time.

    Try setting one of the computers to a static ip, and the other to dhcp and see if both work. There is nothing wrong at all with using static ips if you have to.

    Sul.
     
  12. hassanalauddin

    hassanalauddin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    @toni: Sorry i told u that it's a router. When i saw it carefully,it's written on it that it's a "8 port Switch". And its model number is SWEEX, SW018.

    @Wat0114: Can you tell that what's the Bridge mode?

    @Sully: I have tried to use a static ip on one computer and automatic ip on other one but it didn't work. The computer with the static ip tends to send and receive packets but nothing works...

    I also add here that when i have to use internet on the other computer first i have to release the ip from the first one and then other computer connects to the internet

    Regards
    Hassan
     
  13. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Since you seem to have an 8port switch, and the router is a seperate piece,
    1. only plug each computer into the switch
    2. set static ip address on each machine
    3. disable firewalls etc, and have machine 1 ping machine 2, and vice-versa

    What happens? Does the ping work? If yes, you have working switch, working NIC on both machines, working cables. You narrow it down now to the router most likely.

    It would help then to know the make and model of the router. Since you are using an 8port workgroup swtch, there is nothing strange about the network. And connecting a router to a switch is also common. Post the router details and the issue might be solved in short order.

    Sul.
     
  14. tony62

    tony62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    I think that it is likely connected to a modem & there is no router. If this is the case, then there will be no two computers sharing. The router needs to split the traffic with NAT.

    Work around:

    Internet Connection Sharing

    Description of Internet Connection Sharing
     
  15. tony62

    tony62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    Some great info here:

    Link
     
  16. hassanalauddin

    hassanalauddin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Yes tony you are right. There is no router connected to this. There is a dsl modem through which 8 port switch is providing the connection. If i can't connect more than 1 computer to 8 port switch then what is the function of this switch? And how can i connect more than two computers.

    The internet connection sharing description that you provided was not about windows xp...
     
  17. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    A hub connects computers together. When you send a packet from computer A to computer B, all ports on the hub broadcast that packet, because a hub does not know which port to send it to.

    A switch connects computers together as well. But a switch knows which port that computer B is on, so it only sends that packet to computer B. Less traffic collisions this way. Note that some packets are meant to be broadcast to all nodes, so please remember this.

    A router that you use at home is a 4 port switch usually, and operates as such. However, it is also doing things such as dchp, so it can assign everyone an ip. As well, it is a gateway, so that you plug your dsl modem into the router, and the router actually recieves the wan ip address. But the router also gives an internal address, such as 192.168.1.x. Normally the router will be 192.168.1.1, and all other computers get ip's above that address.

    In your computer then, its ip when connected to a router might be 192.168.1.100. Its subnet would be 255.255.255.0. Its gateway would be the router, which would be 192.168.1.1. Now, all traffic outside of 192.168.1.x will need to go through the gateway first, which is the router.

    The router itself then sends packets from computer A (port 1, 192.168.1.100) on to the internet and then sends packets requested back to computer A. At the same time, computer B (port 2, 192.168.1.101) also fetches a web page or something, and the router sends and recieves packets for it as well.

    Routers also have firewalls and use NAT - network address translation. These are important features that make them such useful tools. Without NAT in routers at home today, you would be open to other computers hitting yours directly, unless your ISP has you on an internal NAT on thier end.

    Linksys is probably the most common router. It is usually trouble free, but can be more basic in its firmware. Other brands that many use, for the most part without issue would be dlink, netgear and belkin. There are some others, but usually those are the brands you find about anywhere.

    Sul.
     
  18. hassanalauddin

    hassanalauddin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Sully!
    Actually i want to ask about the switch and not the router. I was asking y i am not able to connect both the computers to internet through this 8 port switch and not the router? And my ip address mostly starts with 188....
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2010
  19. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    A switch connects two endpoints. Modem and computer A or B. Modem only has capability to give the wan ip address you use to get online to one device. First computer that asks gets it. A router will take the wan ip address from the modem, and become the gateway for any device then on the network.

    When a router is used, you would then plug the router into the 8port switch. But, all computers will use the routers ip address to get to the internet. Then you can have more than one computer accessing the connection at once. Without a router, the modem, even plugged into a switch, will only allow one computer access to use it at a time. Until the first computer drops its connection to the modem (disableing, unpluggin or turning off) the other computer is not allowed.

    Sul.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.