100% CPU Usage Bug with Advanced Heuristics

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by chrisf8657, Sep 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chrisf8657

    chrisf8657 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    If you enable Advanced Heuristics and Runtime packer checking for the File system monitors in NOD32 3.0 RC1 (unsure with ESS), CPU usage will constantly switch back and forth to 100% in ekrn.exe, severely bogging the system down.

    Noticed this on 2 different systems, both clean installs.

    Should note this issue does not occur with NOD32 2.7.
     
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    no, on my pc EA RC1 run smoothly .no issue 100% cpu usage at all.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    This is normal if you enable AH and runtime packers on file access. That's the reason why these features are only used on file create.
     
  4. chrisf8657

    chrisf8657 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Even if I uncheck Runtime Packers, if you check Advanced Heuristics under RealTime File system protection -> Threatsense engine setup, it will bog down with 100% CPU.

    That cannot be normal -- it doesnt do this in 2.7, and the feature would be useless if this is normal.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2007
  5. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    did you read marcos's comment??

    In the main threadsense you can leave that disabled - it will be checking anyway, by default on new or changed files

    Ruben
     
  6. chrisf8657

    chrisf8657 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Yes I see it a little more clearly now.

    But if it has such a performance impact, why is the option to turn it on even there? Kinda defeats the purpose too...
     
  7. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    well to be honest I had it enabled without any problem (;.(

    Ruben
     
  8. bseos

    bseos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Yeah i had it on too without any system slowdown, but it wasn't till i browsed shared folders on some networked computers when the CPU hit 100%
     
  9. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    ok, I didn't try that one :)-))

    Ruben
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.