1 Site keeps unprotecting

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by too2busy, Dec 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. too2busy

    too2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Madison, AL
    When I go into SpywareBlaster after a reboot, it shows 1 site in restricted sites with protection disabled. Finding it in the list to check it to be protected is a real pain, since there are so many entries. Although you can right click and select 'Find Unprotected', I would suggest that the next version of SpywareBlaster be given a method that would allow ordering the sites such that the unprotected ones are grouped together and easier to find.


    Also, perhaps you can address why the protection becomes disabled and how to stop the protection from being disabled.

    The restricted site that has the protection disabled is 'CoolWebSearch(699), okulta.com'. I have run the Trend Micro CWShredder and it finds no occurence of CoolWebSearch on my computer. I have also blocked okulta.com in the IE tools as well as searched the cache to remove any entries for CWS and okulta (none found). Any suggestions?

    Thanks for the great program, by the way! It's a standard on my computer along with other great spyware/malware/adware/firewall programs!
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
  2. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Could it be some other security application removing that entry for whatever reason?
     
  3. ky331

    ky331 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    143
    it's a current conflict with SpyBot's IMMUNIZATION: each time you hit the IMMUNIZE button in SpyBot, it will REMOVE SpywareBlaster's protection of "CWS #699 okulta.com".

    Such a conflict seems to happen every few months.

    It's probably an indication that SpyBot believes that website is "dead", and on that basis, has removed "protection" from it. Perhaps this thread will call attention to that site, for SpywareBlaster's consideration.

    If the one site UNprotected bothers you: EACH time, AFTER hitting the IMMUNIZE button in SpyBot, you will need to open SpywareBlaster to RE-enable all protection.
     
  4. debbieandjon

    debbieandjon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Posts:
    6
  5. W3140

    W3140 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA
    re: SpyBot: I did not run Immunize under SpyBot. After attempting to disable
    'CoolWebSearch(699), okulta.com' and NOT initiating SpyBot IMMUNIZE, the restricted site remains unprotected. It's as if SpywareBlaster is unable to disable the site (or it really doesn't exist).

    re: Avira conflict workaround: In my case, the inability to disable 'CoolWebSearch(699), okulta.com' became apparent until fter applying the referenced AVSS hotfix!

    Any other suggestions? o_O
     
  6. ishmoo21

    ishmoo21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Weird Problem With Spyware Blaster 4.4

    This problem didn't start immediately after I downloaded 4.4 but that is the version I have. I have everything checked on the restricted sites and it says everything is protected but if I restart or go into the program at a later time it says there is 1 item unprotected. The item is CoolWebSearch (699) okulta.com. Does anyone know why it is doing this. It does it on both of my laptops.
     
  7. AlizeZ

    AlizeZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    38
    SB showing 1 restricted `

    Last week and this, I opened my SpywareBlaster to check for updates and notice (on my three computers) that all show "1 Restricted Site is Disabled."

    I have had to enable this 1 item.

    Does anyone know why this 1 Restricted item, for last week and this week, have shown as disabled, even though I keep enabling it?

    Anyone else see the same?

    First time I have noticed this happening.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
  8. THE STEELERS

    THE STEELERS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I have been having the same exact problem and have run malwarebytes and found nothing,I too am trying to figure this out.
     
  9. Xenu_Xenu

    Xenu_Xenu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    I am having the identical problem, only one site and it is the same site, okulta.com.

    I am also using Spybot and Avira with Spywareblaster.

    Here is a hosts entry that might prove useful:

    127.0.0.1 okulta.com
    127.0.0.1 okulta.com.pl
     
  10. egeff

    egeff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I WAS having this problem, now it is worse when I tried to reinstall the new version, it is not working at all and nearly everything is disabled
     
  11. Xenu_Xenu

    Xenu_Xenu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Boot to safe mode, then re-enable all protection.
     
  12. avicenna

    avicenna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I am having the same problem. It occurs each time I access the internet using Firefox. First, the CWS site okulta.com is not protected. Then, shortly after, 200 some odd sites in Firefox are unprotected. I also have Spybot and, each time I go to the internet, 44,000 some odd files lose their immunization (all in
    Firefox). Spybot finds nothing in it's scans, Malwarebytes also finds nothing.
     
  13. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Please check for and download the latest SpywareBlaster database updates. You should no longer experience this issue. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  14. ZoneIII

    ZoneIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I have been having the same problem for quite a while and I check for the latest updates every few days. I have the latest updates right now but the problem persists. In other words, the latest updates do not fix the problem.
     
  15. humble3d

    humble3d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Posts:
    12
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.