1 bug in all ESET Smart Security versions

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by aviramof, Nov 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aviramof

    aviramof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    for some unknown reason while the firewall in automatic mode i
    can't connect to the internet it just don't connect and i don't
    see any action in the firwall and it just stay like this till i get an
    error that i'm not getting an answear from the isp server but if
    i change the firewall to interactive mode and approved IE and etc
    everything is working well and i just think it's a bit strange considering
    that automatic mode is the default mode ESET Smart Security is using.

    my connection is cable connection 1.5MBIT L2TP ISsec VPN
    isp netvision in israel i'm hopping that the problem would be solved
    in the next version and thanks in advance.:)
     
  2. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
    Hi,

    Please enable "log all blocked connections" and open up some pages. After ESS block them, see in firewall protocol if there is any record about that.
     
  3. aviramof

    aviramof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    yes there is
    12/11/2007 06:56:51 Communication denied by rule

    UDP Block outgoing NETBIOS requests system NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
    12/11/2007 06:56:50 Communication denied by rule

    UDP Block outgoing NETBIOS requests system NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
    12/11/2007 06:56:49 Communication denied by rule

    UDP Block outgoing NETBIOS requests system NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM

    three times in black and a lot of blue no usable rule was found as for the ip's
    i'v did not copied them if you need them tell me

    p.s in rules and zones in zones and rules editor how can i change the ask(?)to allow or not
    allow and etc in trusted zone or internet in or out i just can't seem to find an option to do that.

    thanks in advance for your help.:)
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2007
  4. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    reset all defaults
     
  5. aviramof

    aviramof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    reset all defaults wan't do any good bro because i have that problem from
    the moment i install the softwere so it has nothing to do with the
    settings the problem is the rule that block netbios requests as default
    and i guess some ISP'S need that in order to enable connection to there
    users.

    thanks anyway for your help.:)
     
  6. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    next try the repair function, then reinstall if repair doesn't work, or perhaps ask the experts and raise a ticket.
     
  7. aviramof

    aviramof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    repair and reinstall doesn't help and acctually the problem could be bigger then i thoughet because sometimes even using modes other then automatic
    doesn't help and when it happen even disableing all of ESET Smart Security
    doesn't help and i must uninstall it completly and reinstall and the reinstall process doesn't always go well on it's own and the instalation prematurley
    stoped and i need to clean evey trace of eset from the computer and registry in order to be able to install it again and all of this problems are starting to make the softwere very uncomfterbole for me.

    how excelly i can ask the experts and raise a ticket?
    can you give me direct link please?

    thanks in advance.:)
     
  8. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Open ESS
    Click Help
    click customer care support request
    Fill out form and send it to ESET
     
  9. aviramof

    aviramof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    ok i did it bro lets hope it would help solve all the problems in the next version.:)
     
  10. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Fingers crossed
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.