1.5 GB Private Bytes?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by malinois 165, Jun 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. malinois 165

    malinois 165 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Hi

    I have a general quick question in regards to Web Root Secure Anywhere Essentials.

    I notice in using either Process Hacker or Process Explorer it states that

    WRSA.exe is at 1.5 GB private bytes.

    Isn't that quite high?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Are you sure it's not e.g. 15000 Kilobytes?
     
  3. malinois 165

    malinois 165 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Hi

    It does state 1.5GB.

    Thanks!





     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      5.1 KB
      Views:
      284
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      18.7 KB
      Views:
      288
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
  4. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Ok sorry, hopefully TripleHelix PrevxHelp or someone will be along to help.

    P.S. Have you tried a fresh install (without exporting/importing settings) to see if any different?
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
  5. malinois 165

    malinois 165 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Hi

    This number seems to increase while watching streaming movies on Netflix. After closing down the browser the number does not go down (not released)

    I have not tried a fresh install. I just installed this the other day.

    Thanks.



     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hello and Welcome to the Prevx & Webroot SecureAnywhere Support Forum,

    Private Bytes is Virtual Memory and the Working Set is Actual Memory(RAM) I have seen my Private Bytes go into the hundreds but that high only PrevxHelp would know why!

    TH

    This is mine at the moment! Capture26-06-2012-9.43.20 PM.jpg
     
  7. malinois 165

    malinois 165 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Hi!

    Thank you for the welcome.

    I've rebooted and currently watching a 2nd title on Netflix. This time the private byte usage is much lower. Enclosed a screen shot.

    I'll keep my eye on it. Just wondering why it shot up so high and stayed there.

    Thank again.

    (ss from Process Explorer this time)



     

    Attached Files:

    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      9.4 KB
      Views:
      267
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That looks better and myself I don't care for Process Hacker as you can see I like Process Explorer! ;)

    TH
     
  9. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    While I can't say absolutely for sure why it shot up that high, I can make a few educated guesses.

    Private bytes is just what the program or a library loaded in it asked for as memory that will not include shared memory space (DLLs). This is just asked-for, not necessarily used. Windows memory management will still tell the program to bugger off if it a: can't get that much at the time, or b: needs it back later and the program is not actively using it at the time.

    The "or a library loaded in it" is a critical part. Any process can have a library injected into it without it actively requesting such. WSA is no different, it just protects itself against injection by potentially-malicious stuff. But stuff that is known-good can still inject. If that known-good DLL allocates a lot of RAM for some reason, it will show up under the program in question.

    So it could be WSA, or it could be a DLL auto-load, or something else injected. And it shouldn't actually impact anything, because it's nothing but headroom (Max headroom, mind you).
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    A perfect response :thumb:

    Even though it does look higher than normal, you shouldn't be worried - if the system did require the resources back, WSA will happily hand them over.
     
  11. malinois 165

    malinois 165 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Thank you for the explanation. I understand it now.

    Ram usage has remained low since that time.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.