run-time error '453'

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Black, May 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Black

Black Guest

I have just installed SG 2.1 and when I run it
    I get the message: run-time error '453'
    Can't find DLL entry point CreateToolhelp32Snapshot in kernel32

Please help

2. javacool

javacool BrightFort Moderator

3. imcintyr

imcintyr Registered Member

Hi, I'm brand new to this spyware world (Well, I should say, brand new to being really sick of it!)

I installed the SpywareGaurd and got this error as well. Followed your link to the Windows download and still get the error.

Running NT 4.0 (No sympathy cards, please)

Any other ideas? Just checking in.

Thanks!

Ian

4. javacool

I'd like to check and see if the first poster also has Windows NT 4.0 - it seems like I may have to add some special compatibility code for that version of Windows in the next version.

Just out of curiousity, when does this error occur? Immediately when running the sgmain.exe? Or after about a minute or so? TIA.

Best regards,

-Javacool

5. polle

polle Registered Member

Hi,

I have the same problem - NT4.0 SP6a, the error occurs after about a minute when the settings window is open.

regards,
    polle

6. polle

polle Registered Member

Hi javacool,

do you have an estimate as to when you'll have an update ready to fix this? Until then I'll have to stay with version 1.1 but I'm very eager to use the new version.

Thanks,
    polle :)

7. javacool

I can't give any estimate at this time - but I am working on it.

If you'd like to help test a fix (once it is ready) could you e-mail me at bugreports@NOSPAMjavacoolsoftware.com , and I'll get back to you. (I don't have immediate access to a Windows NT 4 system.)

Best regards,

-Javacool

Last edited: Nov 8, 2004
  8. Ken

Ken Registered Member

Has the new version to fix this problem been released yet? I'm having the same problem.

9. javacool