noob here, need help on new document.exe virus

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by loidexe, Aug 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. loidexe

loidexe Registered Member

Hello, Im new here and I need help badly.

I believe that this file "new document.exe" is a virus, though I am not sure and my anti virus Avast doesnt detect it. Whenever I delete this file it always come back after a few seconds. And I believe that it is the cause why several of my programs do not work anymore (winamp, winrar, bitcomet etc.). How do I know? Because these programs' icons were replaced by that of new document.exe's.... Im not really sure bout that but at least there's a connection.

2. ravin

ravin Registered Member

when in doubt get a second opinion. try an online scan at trendmicro and see what turns up. :D

3. Cnumanako

Cnumanako Guest

hi, got the same problem here, pls email me instructions on how to remove this virus :) thanks cnumanako @ yahoo . com

4. Happy Bytes

Happy Bytes Guest

Send me PM and i'll help.

5. Happy Bytes

Happy Bytes Guest

It's a overwriting virus, programmed in Visual Basic 6.
    It will add itself in the registry as

H K E Y _ L O C A L _ M A C H I N E \ S O F T W A R E \ M I C R O S O F T \ W I N D O W S \ C U R R E N T V E R S I O N \ R U N \ E x p l o r e r

---> terminate running processes and remove this value.

It will OVERWRITE calculator programs from windows !
    Don't start calc - or you will get infected again.

It copies itself in the windows folder as calc.exe, config_.com (file is hidden!), mscalc.exe and WINDOWS.exe. All files having a filesize of 40960 bytes.

ATTENTION: it also overwrites OTHER EXEFILES! Means if you start a infected executable it will "strip" the virus code out of this file and will start it uninfected, BUT WILL INFECTED IN THE SAME TIME ANOTHER EXECUTABLE!

No chance to clean this by hand guys, i'm just adding detection - so please stay tuned.

6. same hir,,,,