Layers of Security: How Many Do You Need?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Rmus, Apr 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rmus

Rmus Exploit Analyst

I’ve been computing for only about 12 years, so I’m not an "old timer" by any means. I feel I was fortunate to have learned how to use a computer from a friend who had worked as a programmer and security consultant for NASA. He stressed the need for the user to set up "lines of defense." Although it is more common today to see the term "layers of security," I like the former description, for it calls to mind the image of "lines of protection" in front of the user. I’ve adapted this idea for my own use in working with my own system, and in helping others set up a system.

LINES OF DEFENSE (brief descriptions)

1. User Awareness and Common Sense. This is the first and most important line of defense. This can be taught to anyone. I often see on the forums and various newsgroups references to "my mom who is computer-illiterate." Well, I would prefer to work with computer-illiterate people, so-called, anytime, because they have no bad habits to unlearn. Many people starting with their first computer have a terrible fear of the unknown. This can be alleviated by showing them the insides of the computer. Not that they necessarily are going to work on the computer themselves, but that they understand that a computer is really nothing mysterious: just a combination of boards, and hardware. Handling fear is the most important aspect of computer security. You want to instill confidence in the user right from the start.