What linskys router model to buy

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by the mul, Jun 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the mul

the mul Registered Member

I was wondering if anyone could recommend a model of linsky to purchase, as I am going to have broadband installed in about a months time, I am looking to boost my defences with a router as well as using my software firewall, any help would be appreciated.
    It does not have to be this particular make, but I have read It is very good.
    I have windows xp pro installed and live in the uk.

Many thanks.

The Mul

2. Acadia

Acadia Registered Member

3. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

I have been using a Linksys BESFR11 for several years now. I think the BESFR41 is the most popular wired model.

4. Slovak

Slovak Registered Member

I would recommend the BEFSR81, that's what I have and havn't had a single problem with it. I had a BEFSR41 and had problems with it, so much so that I returned it and paid a little more for the BEFSR81. I can't speak at all for any wireless model as I know wired is faster and more secure. I also know the BEFSR41 has problems still. Check out this recent article http://www.flexbeta.net/main/comments.php?catid=8&shownews=7912
    You can also read similar over at warp2search.net

5. gerardwil

gerardwil Registered Member

6. the mul

the mul Registered Member

Many, many thanks for all your help in this matter and I will read all the info u have given me and look into what model I will purchase very soon.
    Have a nice day.

The Mul :D

7. In The Know

In The Know Guest

the mul

Whichever one you decide upon please make sure you use the full security features it has and make sure the router has WPA compatibility. Upon installing of the security make sure you use at least 21 digits for your security code and the letters A-F and 1-9 only (not case sensitive).