Spyware blaster V's Spybot S&D

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by wizzkid, May 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wizzkid

wizzkid Registered Member

Hi guys,

I am hoping someone can tell me the difference, if any between, Spyware Blaster & Spybot S&D. I have been running Spybot for a couple of years & it has been great, but lately I have been having a few problems with it and it has not been finding any spyware, ect, when there has been some on my system (I deliberately put it there to test it). I have uninstalled it, reinstalled it & updated, but with no luck. There is a new 1.3 Final version out today, I will try that. I have lost all faith in it now though & I am looking for a change. Can anyone recommend something similar?

Wizzkid

2. snapdragin

snapdragin Registered Member

Hi wizzkid, and welcome.

I have moved your thread from the General Forum to the Privacy Software forum where it will get better response.

You might want to read this thread where LowWaterMark has given a great explaination of how SpywareBlaster works (along with also explaining how SpywareGuard works too.)
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=18132

As you will see from his post, SpywareBlaster is a program that 'prevents' installation of spyware/hijackers, etc. Whereas Spybot Search & Destroy is a program that 'removes' the spyware from your computer.

You have asked for an alternative to Spybot Search & Destroy. The only other excellent program that I have used is Adaware6, which has a free version, and a paid version. The paid version comes with Ad-Watch which runs resident to prevent installation of spyware/hijackers.

I am sure others will add some help and suggestions to your thread too as many members here use either one of the above, or have all of them installed (I do.) :D

Regards,

snap

3. aka:snowman

aka:snowman Guest

Snappy

you covered this topic very well......not much if anything else to add

KID