Port 137,138 and 1088 ???

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by wankster, May 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wankster

wankster Registered Member

Hello,
    I had a few questions about ports and blocking. Please know that I am SUPER NEW to all of this besides configuring Firewalls both hardware and softwares. I am a newbie when it comes to actually understanding what is harmful and now.

Here is my situation:
    I am trying to Block Ports 137,138 at a work connection because it is constantly being pinged. I use Etherdetect and see these are simply other computers on the network pinging my machine back and forth. Now here is the question, if I use Norton's Personal Firewall, can I simply set the rules to block these ports? I have read that these ports can cause vulnerabilities and I do not want to get a virus or worse from the network.

Please note that I have actually been connecting to this network for over 3 years now and haven't had any huge problems.

I also came across this program, please review and give me input:
    http://perso.wanadoo.fr/jugesoftware/firewallleaktester/eng/wwdc.htm

My main question is, if I do in fact block these ports, will the admins on a network be able to detect that I am blocking them and think that I may be a harmful intrusion? I simply want to connect to the internet and not cause trouble. Please let me know if blocking these ports sets off red flags or not.
    I have been using this network for 3+ years but simply want to be safe.

Also, Another strange port I see pinging every second is Port 1088. With Etherdetect, the packet information is simply "AdminOffice" and a few random characters. Over and over, sometimes 2 a second.
    This is literally pinging non stop.
    Any clue what this might be? an Smtp server? that was a guess. Please fill me in.