Sandboxie or Comodo sandbox

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by rager, Sep 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rager

rager Registered Member

Ive recently become interested in these technologies as a means to prevent malware from websites. Ive started to experiment with Sandboxie but I noticed that my Comodo internet security also comes with a sandboxing tool.

Is there any difference between them? Would one be safer than the other? Should I keep using sandboxie or is it just as safe if I switch to using the comodo one?

Im no expert however, Ive only recently become interested in IT/security - within the last few weeks infact.

2. andyman35

andyman35 Registered Member

For running your web browser isolated then nothing betters Sandboxie IMO.

3. chinook9

chinook9 Registered Member

I run Comodo on one machine but I also have Sandboxie on that machine. I have Sandboxie on all my computers. Its proven and quite easy to use.

4. yeuxbleus

yeuxbleus Registered Member

I second this. I've tried other sandboxing software and always come back to Sandboxie

5. cheater87

cheater87 Registered Member

If you have Comodo's sandbox set to block unknown files you should be good. :D

6. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

Well I'm in the same boat too.

I'm playing with Comodo's free firewall and wanted to know if there are any pros and cons to it's sandbox compared to Sandboxie, or they are both doing the same thing as far as sandboxing and keeping the system safe?

So basically speaking they are both accomplishing the same results for sandbox protection? Or is Comodo falling short in some way?

The Comodo free firewall seems like a pretty decent application and I figured since it had a sandbox in it, that there wouldn't be a need to run Sandboxie.

THANKS

7. cheater87

cheater87 Registered Member