Help With Firewall log & utorrent ***FIXED***

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by admsupport, Jan 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. admsupport

admsupport Registered Member

Hi, I am new here.

I have little knowledge of port/tcp-ip, etc, so it is difficult to interpret a firewall output.

XP Pro sp3
    Eset Smart Security 3
    Malwarebytes
    ADLS, Nat router: IP 192.168.11.1, PC IP 192.168.11.2

Issue: When I use utorrent.exe, the pc freezes. utorrent connection are not affected, but I have a load of connections that seem not related to utorrent.exe (case of no download and very little upload). I guess someone is using my DSL connection through utorrent.exe (?) AV checks are negative, combofix: negative. When I stop utorrent.exe, all comes back to normal. What could it be? It is like a plague.

Here are the system message:
    http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/5494/aaaaasg1.png

Here is the ESET FW log for the current day:
    http://img104.imageshack.us/img104/6276/91982589fn0.png

PS: how to I show the photos in the message? I tag the links with but they show up as hyperlinks??

***************UPDATE******************
    I found the answer there:

http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=34527

It is fixed now, not even an attack, I guess too many connections where transfered to ekrn.exe for analyze and that froze everything (what stupid advanced settings to solve the problem?! as if nobody where using utorrent..., could be a default setting "user uses torrent"). but what about the firewall log? is it normal? I have read in another thread DNS poisoning attacks where not relevant. So what to believe now?

For a first time with ESET, it is a kind of a cold shower in winter.

Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  2. elapsed

elapsed Registered Member

They are not attacks just ignore them, I get them too, I personally think it shouldn't be logged as it's just normal data flow.