New to Acronis, need to image 100+ machines

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Cyprusg, Dec 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyprusg

Cyprusg Registered Member

Hey guys, I'm new to Acronis. I recently got this job and it was handed down to me, I believe they're using version 9. I've got 100+ machines to image in about a week and wondering what the best way to do this was.

The machines are all Dells, they do not have floppies and I don't have any blank CDs (but obviously I can buy some if I need to).

I guess my question is:

Can I make a backup of an image over the network and then restore that image almost in a ghostcast manner, where I use a PXE boot? I think that would be ideal.

What is the most efficient way of doing this?

2. pluskey

pluskey Registered Member

Of course, I am assuming you windows licenses for all the machines you are re-imaging. That said, the answer is YES. Depending on your network speed, that will work, but reimaging 100 machines may be a big burden on the network.

I would create an rescue disk from TrueImage. Actually, make many. The rescue disk fits onto a CD. If you're bios supports bootable key drives, that would work also. The rescue media is too big for a floppy. Boot to the rescue media, and restore the drives. I have done it with a DVD image and across a windows network, and both work fine.

If the image you're going to restore would fit on a DVD then I would suggest using DVDs so you can restore multiple machines at the same time. Again, restoring 100 machines may jam up your network.