AntiVir PE Premium or NOD32

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jaydub, Dec 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jaydub

jaydub Registered Member

I'm thinking of making the leap from free AV to paid. (I've been using Active Virus Shield for a couple of months and am currently using Antivir PE Classic.)

I have a shortlist of AntiVir PE Premium or NOD32 which both seem to perform very well in independent tests (e.g AV Comparatives).

Which of the two offer the best performance in areas that aren't directly tested (e.g adware/spyware)?

Which company releases the least buggy software on upgraded versions and provides the best support if I have issues?

Are there any other factors I ought to be considering?

Thanks for your help.

2. dan_maran

dan_maran Registered Member

Re: Avira vs NOD32

You night want to change the topic title from "Avira vs NOD32" to something more descriptive :)

3. C.S.J

C.S.J Massive Poster

nod32 gets my vote here out of the 2 you chose,

both are able, try the trials and decide which works best for you.

4. jaydub

jaydub Registered Member

Too late. Can't edit the title once posted :)

Having one of those indecisive moments. Can't decide on the product and couldn't think of a better title.

5. huntnyc

huntnyc Registered Member

Since I was going to start a thread like this, let me jump in. Not an expert of any type just a user of software. I have and do use both, NOD 2.7 and Avira Security Suite. here are some observations of mine, not verified by any test but just my opinions in using them.

1. Interface - i would have to give the "nod" to Avira, fairly clean and easily navigated. Also, Avira allows you to exclude files and folders from scan easily whereas Nod's procedure is backward IMO, must include all folders you want scanned rather than excluding those you do not want scanned.

2. Spyware and adware I would say is a wash, about the same but someone may differ on this.