ZoneAlarm pro support censors problems

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Jeroen1000, Mar 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jeroen1000

Jeroen1000 Registered Member

Dear community,

I feel I need to inform you about appaling practices by Checkpoint. I've been a happy ZoneAlarm Pro user sinds version 5. However, recently, I had a problem:

With ZA enabled, my gigabit network speed dropped to roughly 200 megabit. To narrow down a possible cause, I've even gone as far as installing ZA on a fully updated Windows XP SP3 without any other software installed. No dice, it was blatantly obvious ZoneAlarm was the root cause.

I contacted chat support and all they could advise me was: turn the product on and off. It confirmed my results and then they said: we can't help you, you used Iperf (network throuhput test tool) to test and that's a third party tool. I kindly made clear the same results could be observed with windows shares and asked them what tool I should use then.

The answer I got was: well we don't know of any problem, can I assist you with another matter. Say what? I then had to push for a refund which luckily they allowed (I was using a new licence 3 months and refunds are only given during the first month - but I got an exception to that policy).

Since I'm not the only user in my circle of friend that uses ZA, I posted a question on their forum whether someone could reproduce what I experienced. Maybe someone already figured out a fix. They deleted my post because I mentioned I was forced to install comodo for my computer. But I still wanted to use ZA so I was hoping the forums guru's had some ideas.

They then also deleted my post asking why I was not allowed to post that thread. They also deleted that post.

So you see, there are no problems with ZoneAlarm. IF you have one, you are out of luck because the mere notion of having a problem will be censored and they cannot help you.

And yes, I'm *** fuming!:ouch:

2. Barthez