ZA v3.1 Free release for existing users

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Paul Wilders, Jul 23, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Stated by ZoneLabs:

    regards.

    paul
     
  2. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hi Paul,

    The servers are showing busy now, so they may have exceeded today's limit.

    I've been telling folks to try early tomorrow.

    The notice was posted to DSLR (by Jamming777), to TrojanHunter forum (by Jamming777), and to PC911 (by me).
     
  3. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    marti,

    First: we sure appreciate your update - and other posts over here!

    Predictable, all ZA Free users trying to grab the update asap; ZoneLabs surely has a point here. No doubt their servers would crash in case the would allow any user to update at once.

    regards.

    paul
     
  4. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
  5. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks Marti ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  6. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  7. snowman

    snowman Guest

    Was looking at the screen shot...an noticed one of the posted said that the update could be installed over the old version......thats definitely a "first"....what happen to having to un-install "truevector" ? just rather curious....

    other than a "face-lift" and a few extra user-friendly features......does anyone know if "actual protection" was enhanced ?? I have not seen any mention of "protection" enhancements.

    snowman
     
  8. Vietnam Vet

    Vietnam Vet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    306
    Hello everyone, went to link provided by YODA. Instructions say to install over top of existing version, but first shutting down ZA by right clicking and selecting shut down zone alarm(icon in system tray). If I shut ZA down this way, it says that the TrueVector Internet monitor is in use by other programs and cannot be closed even though the interface does close. Is this the intended way of doing this or should I reboot after deselecting load at startup so it is truely shut down completely? All opinions welcome and TIA.
     
  9. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Snowman,

    Only the ZAPlus and ZAPro "flavors" have component control, if that's what you are talking about. See this (now old, as ZAFree does have a couple new features) comparison chart:

    http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/company/products/znalm/comparison.jsp
     
  10. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    V.V.

    Since I don't know your OS, either try to remove all mention of ZA in MSConfig and reboot. Or possibly try to work in safe mode.
     
  11. snowman

    snowman Guest

    VET

    personally I would totally un-install truevector...before installing the new version......thats just me....

    ok...to un-install truevector.....go to "configure" in zone alarm an UNCHECK "load zone alarm at start-up"...then shut down zone alarm....AN RE_BOOT.............(zone alarm will not load) THEN UN_INSTALL ZONE ALARM.......***AN THEN RE_BOOT AGAIN**** after doing this ..install the new version..... please note the need to re-boot..

    this is the only way I would remove zone alarm to install a new version...............even it others say its safe to install over the old version I personally would not even consider doing so........but again thats me..

    snowman
     
  12. snowman

    snowman Guest

    VET

    Marti is correct..truevector can be disable in msconfig,,an yes you need to re-boot.........DO NOT TRY INSTALLING THE NEW VERSION WITH TRUEVECTOR STILL ENABLED>>>>>



    Marti

    just read the chart you so nicely provided...thankya....but did not notice any changes mention regarding the free version...(the version being updated)..........yes I did notice at the other link you provided of the screen shot that there are a couple of new features that are what I suppose is ment as "user friendly""" yet all in all as yet I have not found any mention of actually protection improvements made to the firewall itself...if any.......FE: does the new freeware version block something that the old version did not.......(along that line Marti).....is the new version "stronger"" etc

    perhaps its just me..but when it comes to a firewall my first question is about its protection features
    an thanks for the replys Marti..an links

    snowman
     
  13. YODA

    YODA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    hey guys,

    I did wut snowman suggested... just uninstall and then install the new version. Thats probably the best way to do it, it will be a lot more cleaner but thats just me, lol maybe its betta to follow their directions only thats it their program so they should know better heh. In the new ZA i don't see much of a change in the program, only a face lift.... just looks a lil different. To me the new ZA is using up more resource, but thats could just be me :D. Try that link above guys, if it says it to busy.... What R U WAITING FOR!!!! GO DL IT!!!.... lol

    YODA
     
  14. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hi Snowman,

    Changes to ZAFree are listed in the DSLR thread here:

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,3915831~root=security,1~mode=flat

    Zone Labs was nice and let the Team Z members notify folks that a new version of ZAFree was available.

    I wish I had better answers for ya'll, but I'm collecting information "here and there."

    If you want more info, suggest that you wait until things "calm down" and the version is officially released though the ZL website.

    Thank you for your understanding,
    marti
     
  15. Vietnam Vet

    Vietnam Vet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    306
    Thanks for quick responses. Marti, my os is 98SE and zone alarm does not run if I uncheck load at startup and then reboot. What I was getting at was if this was the intended way of updating with TRUEVECTOR still running. Never done it that way before. Suspected that it should not be done that way this time either, but looking for confirmation or correction as the case might be on this theory. Snowman, in the past I have updated to newer versions, first uninstalling the older version and also installing over the top of existing versions. Never had a problem so far either way, but always with truevector shut down either method thus my question. Thanks again for info!
     
  16. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    V.V.

    So you are OK now?

    marti
     
  17. Vietnam Vet

    Vietnam Vet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    306
    Yes, marti, I think so. In any event this computer came with Goback installed. Works great, probably best thing on here as I like to try a lot of programs and if something goes wrong, I can turn the clock back without worrying about the registry or anything else. Kind of like carrying around a big eraser.
     
  18. snowman

    snowman Guest

    VET

    you are most welcome...an glad you have never expeienced any problems........fortunately you have had experience with installing new versions.....unfortunately not everyone realizes that Truevector needs to be dis-abled.....a newbes may see "install over old version" as meaning just install..without dis-abling truevector........personally I prefer a clean install...removing the old to make room for the new LOL oh..hope you find the new version to your liking,,,,,seeya

    Marti
    an again thanks for another link...yes it will need to calm down alittle before the reports begin coming in...as mentioned about to VET I sure hope newbes don't mis-understand an try installing the new version without first dis-abling truevector.......even I was at first confused by the wording........
    well...wishing you a pleasent night Marti....

    snowman
     
  19. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Vet,

    Hang in there and do report your problems, here or on DSLR.

    Snowman,

    I'm trying to keep all of the forums and newsgroups up-to-date. Other Team Z members are doing the same. The newest info, via user feedback, is that if you don't like the new ZAFree GUI interface color, you can't change it. However, you can purchase a license for ZAPlus or ZAPro and have color choices.

    Keep those comments coming, ya'll.

    marti
     
  20. snowman

    snowman Guest

    Marti

    you are doing a wonderful job keeping up....may I respectfully suggest that you be nice to yourself a take a break every now and then.......don't exhust yourself.

    snowman
     
  21. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hi Snowman,

    Thanks for the concern with my physical and mental health. However, I'm a grown up and when I've had enough, I get away from the computer and do something else.

    At the moment, I'm fine, and am actually enjoying posting to several forums and newsgroups in order to help folks.

    you take care of you,
    marti
     
  22. snowman

    snowman Guest

    Marti

    goodness..of course I realize you are a grown up...did not mean to imply otherwise.....was simply being pleasent.....sorry if I somehow offended you...certainly did not intend to....in the future I will be much more careful.

    best regards
    snowman
     
  23. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hi Snowman,

    I do appreciate your concern. Was trying to tell you that when I've had enough "help desk" stuff, I leave the computer.
     
  24. snowman

    snowman Guest

    Marti

    NP...wishing you the very best......goodnight.

    snowman
     
  25. Pretender

    Pretender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Virtual Paradise
    those using aol may have to make adustments to the default settings on this new version. just a note of what might be expected for aol users.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.