XPAntiSpy versus XP SP1

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Checkout, Sep 20, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    In case this hasn't been mentioned before, and you're attempting to install Service Pack 1 for XP and receive the typically unhelpful message "installation cancelled" then RESET XPAntiSpy and try again. XPAS turns off certain features needed by SP1's install.

    HTH.
     
  2. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    it does?? i wondered about that after i installed SP1, and wondered if it had re-enabled what XP-Antispy had disabled for me. I checked it and everything i had XP-Antispy disable (which was everything) was still disabled.

    CheckOut, i didn't get a warning of any kind when i was installing SP1, it went smoothly without any interruptions at all, and so far i haven't seen any of my settings changed....not evenin IE6 or in OE.

    did i just get lucky? ;)

    snap
     
  3. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Perhaps you weren't using "expert" settings?
     
  4. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hi ;)

    Regwizc.dll and licdll.dll must be restored before installing SP1.

    Also some problems if some customizer apps (likebootxp, stylexp) or third party themes are installed (personal logo on the login windows for instance).

    Any of these might prevent installing WinXP SP1.

    Cheeers,
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Read this one to late, so I guess I was lucky :)
    Anyone heard of installing SP1 messing up Win2k when dual booting?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  6. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    yep! that was it! Thanks Checkout, i not only didn't have the "expert" settings enabled but i also had an older version of XPAntiSpy. i've got the latest version (3.61) and enabled the "expert" settings too.

    snap
     
  7. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Wow! Glad I could be helpful. :)
     
  8. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Have done so, but SP1 refuses to install itself with the very helpfull message: installation cancelled.

    Have tried everything included closed the antivirusscanner but nothing helps.

    Strange is, that when I run Windows Update, it don't recognize that SP1 is not installated on my machine.

    I don't know where to look for the solution of the problems... :mad: :oops: :doubt: :'(
     
  9. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    Download de full SP1 here : http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/fr/default.asp?corporate=true if you don't have it as for now and don'try Windows Update.

    Don't take me wrong but have you an official registred WindowsXP or some one found on the W3 ?

    If yes, try to disable also in the BIOS the Av check, close all other programs running in the backward and if using IDBlaster, restore your real Pid and restart before installing SP1

    If no, you may post privately.

    Rgds,
     
  10. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    I installed SP1 woth IDblaster running... :cool:
     
  11. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    UR a lucky dog lol ;)

    Generally you get a problem when installing.

    Cheers,
     
  12. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Have discovered the problem: ID-Blaster........

    Every works fine now, SP1 was installed itself after correcting the ID-Blaster problems smoothly! :)
     
  13. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Not so, JacK. As noted previously, I had IDBlaster active, and only XPAntiSpy caused me problems. Something else is screwing this up.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.