WSA & CIS

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by ams963, Jan 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,951
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hi,

    If I install CIS will there be any conflict between wsa and cis? Will they work along just fine and increase security by the layered security approach? Is there any known reports of conflicts between the two? We all know two antivirus and firewall should not be used together. And moreover Comodo support said to uninstall any other security software before installing cis. But I heard wsa is compatible with other security software. But I'm not sure. I mean if cis finds a malware will it block first and wsa later or will wsa fight for it? And will any of the wsa's features be disabled if I use it with cis? What about the wsa firewall?
     
  2. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    I haven't upgraded to WSA yet, but this real-time combination has run trouble-free for months:
    - Router
    - Comodo DNS @ Router
    - Panda URL Filtering
    - Comodo CIS 5.9
    - Prevx 3
    - Spyshelter Premium

    I did have to disable some protection recently to allow installation of HitmanPro upgrade, but no other problems.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,951
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    thx.....installed the firewall only.......av needed database update of 94mb.....
     
  4. Pierrequiroule

    Pierrequiroule Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    As far as I am concerned, I have run WSA (beta) and Comodo Firewall on my PC for almost six months. No conflict so far.

    A while ago, and for a few months, I also had KAV running with WSA and Comodo Firewall. Here again, no conflict with WSA. (I decided not to renew my license with Kaspersky for reasons that did not involve WSA)
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,951
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    thx a lo for the assurance......I'm also not seeing any conflicts yet ........so I guess it's good to go......
     
  6. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hi all! :),

    Should Defense+, integrated in ComodoFW, be deactivated?
    Thanks.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    11,207
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think it would be fine just as long it doesn't block anything from WSA!

    TH
     
  8. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,207
    Location:
    UK
    I agree. I had WSA running alongside Comodo Firewall with Defense+ (configured for Proactive Security) without encountering any conflicts or performance issues.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.