WRData folder in WSA Complete

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Dermot7, Oct 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dermot7
    Offline

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Re: WRdata folder

    Still becoming rather too large here for a 1 month timespan, and should it be retaining as many as 119 files? This with 8.0.40 Complete. Thanks :)

    Attached Files:

  2. PrevxHelp
    Offline

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    With the Complete version, some additional components are downloaded (for Backup & Sync, as well as Password management) which will make up the majority of the size you're seeing. If you'd like, feel free to send in a scan log and I'll take a look although I suspect it's functioning as expected,

    Thanks!
  3. Dermot7
    Offline

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    That explains all Joe, thank you :thumb: :)
    I should have taken into account additional features now added. Not that 62MB is such a huge amount anyway, nowadays.
  4. JCRUYFF
    Offline

    JCRUYFF Registered Member

    can someone tell me the exact location of the WRData(in Windows XP) , Because my Used Disk suddenly grown from 6.19GB to 6.70GB . i don`t have downloaded anything more than 100MB and i want to chech if is WSA Issue Plz.


    Thanks!!
  5. Clive T
    Offline

    Clive T Registered Member

    Re: WRdata folder

    Just checked my data and the WRData folder contains 131 files totaling 178Mb going back to 17 August (now on 8.0.0.60).
  6. PrevxHelp
    Offline

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    On XP it is C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\WRData\
  7. Techfox1976
    Offline

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    The WRData folder also contains all the quarantined data and all the monitoring data. Advanced users who use utilities and programs that are less-likely to be already marked as Known Good (and thus not monitored) are more likely to have bigger WRData contents. Some settings such as verbose logging will also increase the size more swiftly. When files are marked as good, either in the cloud or locally, they stop generating monitoring data, so it won't grow as fast.
  8. Dermot7
    Offline

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Now, after couple of hours fresh install of WSAC (8.0.0.66) I'm looking light again.

    Attached Files:

  9. Techfox1976
    Offline

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    The WRData directory contains all of your local determinations cache, all monitoring data, quarantined files, and the PKG directory inside it contains the Extra Stuff that comes with Complete (Like the password toolbar and Sync). The PKG directory alone should be a number of tens of megabytes.

    When you consider that it's the local cache and quarantine, which exists on top of all security products' footprints, even 50MB in the folder directly is not that bad by comparison.
  10. Triple Helix
    Offline

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joe mine is getting large for some reason? Clean install of OS and installing 20 programs with WSA on!

    TH

    Capture02-01-2012-9.00.38 PM.jpg
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  11. Techfox1976
    Offline

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    AV-Only, or Essentials/Complete? It looks like one of the latter.

    Things that are stored in that directory:
    All monitored-process data.
    All quarantine (It gets bigger from quarantining a file).
    All main WSA data.
    All Sync and Password management secondary data (The actual modules).

    So if you have E or C, you should see a bunch of stuff under pkg.
  12. Triple Helix
    Offline

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Close Beta of E without Back Up an Sync and it's a clean install of the OS so there are no infected files but I did install WSA before installing all other programs so it was Monitoring all programs I installed then today! So the point I was getting at is that Joe said they would minimize how many files was to be in that folder!

    TH

    Capture02-01-2012-10.07.44 PM.jpg
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  13. Techfox1976
    Offline

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    I thought he said he was going to auto-cleanup stuff better to minimize what goes in there. But if it's monitoring installs, that's some serious data quantity. Sounds like the best bet would be to contact support and see about getting the installers or the installed programs themselves whitelisted so they no longer monitor.

    After all, if all of the data was generated by monitoring unknown files for a few minutes/hours, how is the agent supposed to know what is safe to throw out and when? What if the installer is later deemed to be bad and everything it did needs to be undone?

    Edit: The ddb#### should be a monitoring set. So whatever was monitored to create that 42-MB file should be whitelisted. :)
  14. Triple Helix
    Offline

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    I will leave it for Joe as I know if I do a clean reinstall of WSA and that will disappear! I just wanted him to see it as I said I did a clean install of the Win 7 32bit OS and then installed WSA then installed all updates from MS and then installed MS Office Pro 2010 and then MS updates again so it was an all day thing today with all other programs that I had on it before! ;)

    TH
  15. Dermot7
    Offline

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Think I need a clean install also, seeing this :eek:

    Attached Files:

  16. PatG
    Offline

    PatG Registered Member

    I sure need something. Mine's reading 308mb and 230mb respectively. Kinda reminds me of the old Carl Smith song, "Hey, Joe". We're all a-waiting....
  17. Techfox1976
    Offline

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    I guess I "win" then. XD

    Mine's at 543 MB (Half a gig! Woots!) on WSAC. Only 30MB of that is the Complete stuff.

    Tons of monitoring of all the Dell driver installations and some locally developed code in WRLog.log, and one of the DB files is over 300MB. :)
  18. Ibrad
    Offline

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Just curious is a clean install the only way to get the client size back down? If the WSA cloud changes a file to trusted would it still need those files or could the client delete the automatically to get more space?
  19. Triple Helix
    Offline

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    No it can mess it up only a clean reinstall is the best way for now!

    TH
  20. Corepcx
    Offline

    Corepcx Registered Member

    I will chime in..

    WSA - only after a few days and only have a few apps in detection list to allow, monitor, etc..have run a couple of full scan has well..

    WRDATA folder for me

    Size 104mb - some of the files in WRDATA folder are compressed once again, the blue ones and this reading is total of all files uncompressed..

    Size on Disk reads 45mb - this is total with compression taken into account

    If I am reading that right..
  21. Tarnak
    Offline

    Tarnak Registered Member

  22. PatG
    Offline

    PatG Registered Member

    Uninstall and re-install got mine cleaned up! ;-)

    Attached Files:

  23. PrevxHelp
    Offline

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Any size increase is just from the local journaling engine to ensure WSA can clean up threats properly. You can use the System Tools - System Control - Control Active Processes list to manually whitelist files (by changing them to "Allow") or you can write into our support inbox where they can whitelist files for you without a problem :)
  24. Tarnak
    Offline

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Just looked where you pointed to...and noticed this.;)

    ScreenShot_WSA_Control_Active_Processes_details_01.jpg

    ...looks a bit untidy.
  25. PrevxHelp
    Offline

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    True - it looks like that process has a few more child processes than we anticipated ;) I'll have that fixed shortly - thanks!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.