Would you install MBAM Pro if you have NOD32 installed?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by berryracer, Apr 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I know it is recommended to install MBAM Pro if you have an average or weak antivirus to add another layer of protection.

    But is it necessary to install MBAM Pro (real time scanner) if I am using NOD32 or is NOD32 enough?

    Incase the answer was to install MBAM Pro, I know how to setup exclusions so they won't conflict with each other, but will this have a drastic effect on performance?

    What do you guys think?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    thanks Cudni, I know how to set up the exclusions but since you guys have been using NOD32 for a while now. Do you think it's needed or can NOD32 handle everything?
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    If Eset or any other AV could deal with any malware out there that would be very nice. As that is not yet the case augmenting your computer security with an additional scanner is useful. There is no rule when additional security software is needed or not. It really depends on user's preference and general attitude towards security
     
  5. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Thanks for your fast response. I will install it in that case since I own a license anyway
     
  6. Phil_S

    Phil_S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    I have Nod v5 and MBam pro running together with no problems.
     
  7. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Absolutley yes,Especially for keeping rogues off.:thumb:
     
  8. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    oh ok, thanks dude
     
  9. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    I will always install mbam free edition, I scan 1 a week even though I have Nod32, sometimes things can just sneak pass Nod32...
     
  10. rcdailey

    rcdailey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    From everything I've read, I think there is no problem running MBAM Pro alongside Eset in Win 7. I also have MBAM Pro, but because I run XP, I found a conflict relating to external USB drives. Other than that, MBAM Protection did not conflict with Eset NOD32 v 5.0.95.0. To solve my problem I simply disabled the MBAM service. It's an XP thing that people do not report with Win 7 or even Vista.
     
  11. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    Two software programs that check the same files at the same time it is never very good for efficiency.

    Not have visible problems does not mean that there is no problem.

    I have confidence in NOD32, I never would install another real-time protection. Do not fall into paranoia.
     
  12. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    using mbam pro with nod32 is a nice layered setup....no one security software can catch everything.....so layered security is the name of the game.....the only downside I can see is the increased scan time of mbam when it is used in presence of an on-access av......but not by much so no worries ;) .....
     
  13. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    600
    Location:
    In His Service
    I'm thinking your absolutely correct.. a tech that i trust when it comes to security tells me its like having a good guard dog in your house.. burglar comes in guard dog takes him out. Get two or three guard dogs.. burglar comes in guard dogs go into a frenzy then begin to attack each other.. burglar takes everything he sees while the dogs are taking each other out.. ;)
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    unless the dogs are trained to attack the burglar or intruder one after another...and put at different points of the house to catch and safeguard the house against the intruder....;)
     
  15. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,134
    Location:
    USA
    I think that's backwards.:D
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,947
    Location:
    North Carolina
    MBAM free is all you would need to add or Hitman Pro. Esets detection for me has been outstanding.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.