worst software

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by wampmonster, Dec 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wampmonster

wampmonster Registered Member

Look. In my job as a 3D graphics designer I try out a lot of software.

Over time I have seen the good, the average, the bad, the lousy and the stinking, putrid, detritus that passes for code. In this final category I will list some outstanding mentions. This software was so bad that it needed a radioactivity sticker:

XSI Softimage: before Autodesk bought this program it was awful. Once I downloaded the trial version and couldn't get it to start. So I went to the Softimage page and it said that to "get it to start" I had to do a triple somersault and climb up Everest. No thanks. Bye. Not my job. Especially when the software was charging 2000 dollars[!].

Nortons Anti-Virus: this was bad. In 2002 I had a virus on my PC for 2 years. A common virus in fact: loveletter. Norton never found it even though the virus was doing funky stuff like changing my font to German and saying on the screen "whats up? missing something?" in English. So I tried to uninstall Nortons. Not so fast! It wouldn't uninstall. It popped up a box every 5 seconds that said "partly uninstalled". The box took up my whole screen. Task manager wouldn't kill the box. It was making my computer unusable. I had to kill the box with Winpatrol that thank goodness I had installed. For the price that Nortons charged [ 70 bucks a year] their gall in making such sewerage was beyond belief. I vowed ever since that no computer of mine will EVER touch anything Nortons or Symantec. Nortons was so bad that it would have been better to have had no AV at all. I call it the pumpernickel bread of AV; you wouldn't feed Nortons to a horse.

I doubt if you can top those 2.

2. Dave0291

Dave0291 Registered Member