Workstation Security setup?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by HorizonFell, Dec 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HorizonFell

HorizonFell Registered Member

Hey, all. This is my first post here -- don't kill me. :blink:

I'm new to IT, and am going to be running a server and workstations under the same AV progs. We're a startup running basic programs only (firefox, Office suite, Photoshop).

I'm looking for basic input; I'm looking for something that will be 97-99% secure in totality, and that won't leave a large footprint. Price isn't really an issue.

The planned installation is:

Treatfire
    Spy Sweeper
    Nod32

Any ideas? Will this do?

Thanks, all.

-HF

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

Remove Spy Sweeper since it can be heavy. NOD32 + Threatfire should provide good protection.

3. jrmhng

jrmhng Registered Member

Yea a good AV and behavior blocker should do so you setup seems fine. Maybe you want to have backup software or use an offline service like mozy just in case anything does happen and your work files are lost.

Cheers
    Jeremy

4. HorizonFell

We're planning on rocking a few USB hds (of varying backup dates, so that longer-back restores can occur) and an offsite for backup.

And contrary to what I wanted earlier, I kind of want to test out KIS, Counterspy, and BoClean together.

What matters most is that the false positives are low, since the office users would freak if they saw any (computer illiteracy), and that scan times are not too bad (since they expect things to come up at once).

A virus wouldn't devastate us, but I'd really rather us not get it. Thus, trying to come up with the most effective suite combo is literally killing me -- it's the one thing that's holding up my buy order.

So, any other ideas? Keep Threatfire, or rock BoClean? Screw CounterSpy?

(and thanks for the suggestions already thrown in.)

5. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member