Won't go away

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by SamSpade, Aug 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SamSpade

SamSpade Registered Member

As a self-taught Windows user of 17 years I have done a fair amount of checking under the hood, but am by no means an expert on the os (or any other, for that matter). Just to let everyone know ....

My question has to do with a recurring entry in my WinXP system startup list/folder, as indicated by several system startup checkers/editors I use. It occurs in the registry folder:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

It is the key listed as (Default), first entry in that registry ("Run") folder, and the problem is that it is simply left empty; it is being picked up by those four registry editors/scanners I use for checking/cleaning up unnecessary entries.

Most (or all, probably) other first entries of registry folders start with a (Default) key that says: "(value not set)", but my first entry in this aforementioned folder is simply open; there is nothing there. An empty space.

When I manually put the entry of "(value not set)" into the key, it still comes up with a question mark in my MSConfig, Ace Utilities, Spybot, and CCleaner system startup editors. I've tried deleting this key time and again, but it just re-appears when I do a refresh. These utilities are checking for system startup entries that might be deleted if deemed unnecessary, but this only started showing up in the past two weeks. I've got nod32 running all the time with all possible filters "on"; I've done spyware checks with several anti-spyware programs; I've done online scans by Kaspersky and Symantec -- all come up clean.