Windows XP 64bit, ESET Smart Security and Ntune = BSOD

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by caintry_boy, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. caintry_boy

caintry_boy Registered Member

Hi all, I'm a newbie to ESET and my friend an I are experiencing this problem.
    Got a friend who just "upgraded" to XP 64bit. Yesterday we installed a new Intel E8400 CPU on his motherboard, and purchased a subscription to ESET Smart Security v3.0.650.0, antivirus/firewall/antispam suite.
    His specs are: eVGA NF680i mobo, E8400, 4Gb PC2 6400 RAM, 8800GT Superclocked vid card all on Air and Windows XP x64.

Problem is this, after installing the Smart Security suite, he ran Ntune to "fine tune" his Nvidia system. On startup Ntune gave a BSOD, this has never happened before so we uninstalled Ntune and reinstalled. On startup Ntune opened and he could do what he wanted, but after a reboot on opening Ntune we get the BSOD again.

A reinstall of Ntune works every time, but opening Ntune after a reboot gets a BSOD.

Message on the BSOD says the usual stuff with these errors......
    0x0000003B (0X00000000C0000096, 0xFFFFFADF8E233AB7, 0xFFFFFADF8C5CB080,0x0000000000000000
    nvoclk64.sys - Address FFFFFADF8E233AB7 base at FFFFFADF8E232000 Datestamp 46de13d9

Ideas or suggestions?? o_O

2. Aug

Aug Registered Member

I guess my troubleshooting would be:

1) Ensure the system was not overclocked in the BIOS (use the default settings with the exception of you mem timings and voltage).
    2) Be certain as to whether ESS plays a role in the crash. So all was working well (with and without ntune before ESS)? Only after the ESS install you had the problem?
    3) Is the BSOD happening only when running the tuning feature of the ntune utility?