Windows won't load

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tcjohnsson, Jul 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tcjohnsson

tcjohnsson Registered Member

I am a big-time newbie so please don't mind my ignorance. I have a Sony laptop that crapped out on me. The hard drive is still good but the motherboard is dead. It's out for repair as of this morning and probably won't be done for about 3 weeks. Before the Sony died, I was doing regular INCREMENTAL back ups to an external hard drive. I went out and bought a budget Toshiba laptop this afternoon. Both the Sony and the Toshiba operate on Windows XP.

I decided to back up the files and folders to my Toshiba and it looked like everything went OK. Then when it was complete and TI asked to reboot, I did so but the screen came on with a VERY low resolution and when I click on my name to logon to Windows this error comes up:

"A problem is preventing Windows from accurately checking the license for this computer. Error Code: 0x80004005."

When I click "OK", I go back to the logon page with no option from there. I can't get Windows to start up. Did I do something wrong? How can I fix this?

Also, I have another computer - a Compaq, that I purchased recently for my girlfriend. I tried to perform the other option which images the entire hard disk to the new computer drive. And I can't log on to that computer at all. It just keeps going to the screen that allows one to boot in various safe modes, last good configuration or to start windows normally. None of them work. And I go back to the same page after a quick flash of a screen stating that "a problem has occured..." It shows up for just a quick flash and then it goes back to the reboot in safe mode screen.

So I have two computers that don't work, in addition to the one in the shop. Can someone please help me?

Thank you

2. nadirah

nadirah Registered Member

I suggest that you read this: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=306081