windows media player

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Bethrezen, Jul 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi im just curious if anyone knows why windows media player keeps tyrin to conect to the net im asuming to call home every time i run it see id noticed this behaviour befor but never though much about it till now after reading these posts

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=2173

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=2098;start=15

    and im just wonderin if anyone knows how to stop this behaviour because the only time it should be conectig to the net is when i choose to let it so i can check for updates
     
  2. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Bethrezen, if you can find a listing for WMP in your firewall, you can restrict it from access from there. (Block it, in other words).

    In WMP itself, click on 'Tools' , then 'Options'. On the 'Player' tab, nothing should have a checkmark in front of it - if anything does, UN-check it! As far as 'Check for Updates' goes, put the dot in the 'Once a month' selection. If you change anything, make sure you click 'Apply' before moving to the next tab.

    On the 'CD Audio' tab, make sure there is NOT a checkmark in the "Enable Personal Rights Management" box - if there is, UNcheck it. If you change anything, make sure you click 'Apply' before moving to the next tab.

    On the 'Media Library' tab, I have 'no access' radio button with the dot in it in BOTH categories. (I can't swear this will work for you, because I don't know how you use the player, but it works for myself and my son here). If you change anything, make sure you click 'Apply' before moving to the next tab.

    That's about the best I can do on short notice, my friend. Good luck! Pete
     
  3. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi spy 1

    i have done what you sergested and it is no longer tryin to conect to the net every time i start it up

    thanks for ya reply
     
  4. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    You're quite welcome. Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.