Windows homegroup desperate user

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by apomet, Nov 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. apomet

apomet Registered Member

Hello,
    I have created a windows 7 homegroup with a desktop and laptop computers.The network works fine but when I install ESET Internet security 5.0 it does not work any more.When I disable the firewall it works again with no problems.I am a beginner at networks.I have searched the forum and hve tried several options but with no result.Is there a step by step guide to make it work or I will have to abandon ESET and move to another program?
    Please help me, someone.
    Thank you
    Apo

2. zfactor

zfactor Registered Member

try turning the firewall to learning mode (you will not have to enter any info this way it will do it for you you will just see the pop up showing the connection). then try to connect and see if you get the pop ups and if it connects. if it does then try changing it back to auto if thats what you use and try again. i had this issue and this fixed it for me i use the firewall myself on interactive but on the wife and daughters its set to auto since they cant stand the pop ups. but i do wish they would improve the firewall and they way you can use it i would love a simple manual mode similar to norton or avast in the future versions.

if that doesnt work set it to interactive mode and when you see the pop ups for the connection allow it or you can create a manual rule for it as well. but setting to learning worked for me. we can always help if you need to make a rule.

3. Temp Member

Temp Member Registered Member

@ OP, is IPv6 running, yes or no?

4. apomet

apomet Registered Member