Windows Firewall Notifier 1.20

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by moontan, Sep 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
  2. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
  3. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    Arizona
    Comments for version 1.0 posted here.

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=304278

    I gave it a pass then but it sounds like some of the bugs have been worked out. Currently using WFC. I may give Windows Firewall Notifier 1.20 a try in the next few days. It's even smaller than WFC!
     
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    1.30 released today:

     
  5. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,550
    Location:
    Romania
    Seems "appealing".It definitely worth a try.Thanks for head-up.:thumb:
     
  6. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    277
  7. Hefaistos22

    Hefaistos22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Slovakia
    i think you just need to run the executable file again. it will open that window, with option to unninstal/also with the list of firewall rules and so on :)
     
  8. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    277
    You are right lol. Actually i created a folder in program files and activated it there. Popups were working. After that i tried to open exe file, but it crashed two times. I tried again and it works now.
    Ok, i admit it, my question was stupid xD

    And this software is awesome i think :thumb:
     
  9. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    277
    Windows Firewall Notifier 1.3.2

    You must try this software. It is completely free!

    Code:
    1.3.2 (2011.09.29):
    fixed various bugs (especially with 64bit systems)
    parallel WFN instances management have been deeply improved (= applications trying to connect simultaneously to many different targets when blocked are now handled properly (ex: Dropbox))
    code optimization
    added an error log
    http://wokhan.online.fr/progs.php?sec=WFN
     
  10. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,550
    Location:
    Romania
    Ok,few thoughts.The pop-up window for a new connection shows up with a little delay.And it behaves more or less like Windows 7 Firewall control,meaning that the program which requested the connection must be run again to be able to re-connect and i find this annoying.But all in all,a very useful (and FREE) program for a Win FW user who wants to control outbounds requests in a detailed way.
     
  11. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    It seems to be a really good program but how it works ? It launch a process or it modify some parameters in windows ?
     
  12. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    277
    It creates Task Scheduler Event and monitors firewall logs from Event Viewer.
     
  13. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    Ok, so it didn't use ressources. Really great.
     
  14. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    535
    Location:
    Moon
    Great freeware app :thumb: similar to Windows Firewall Control
     
  15. jnthn

    jnthn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    185
    Does this play well on a non-admin user account?
     
  16. Dwarden

    Dwarden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    it need work, seems bugged on W7 SP1 x64,
    i have repeated requests for many files even if the rule was created by previous popup or is already in WF list ...
     
  17. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    i'm trying this at the moment.

    very light, it doesn't install any drivers or services.
    it doesn't even show in Task Manager!

    i just doubt my ability to use these things correctly though:
    so "System" want to connect to such and such IP for example.
    just the fact that i don't honestly know how to answer disqualifies me from using such products i think.
    sure, i could use the Block the button for things i am not sure of.
    up until the day my machine becomes as useful as a pile of brick. ;)

    i'll try it for a couple of days and see how it goes...
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
  18. ultim

    ultim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    279
    I'm sorry to butt in, but there is no such thing as "so light it doesn't even show in task manager". Windows Firewall Notifier is still light, I'm just saying the reason you do not see it in the task manager is probably because it is running with elevated privileges, but your task manager is not.
     
  19. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Actually I don't think this is the reason. The reason you don't see it running, is because it only launches when another application is detected trying to make an outbound connection to the internet and that is the only time windowsfirewallnotifier.exe shows up in task manager (aka when its popup windows appears). At least that's what I see happen from using this app.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
  20. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    505
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    for me is the same here, it is showed only when popup appears
     
  21. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,262
    Doesn't support XP... bummer!
     
  22. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
  23. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    I have been trying this for a few hours. This program has really improved. I think I will stick with it for a while. Thanks for the news on the update.
     
  24. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Netherlands
  25. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    Arizona
    Version 1.6.1 out already.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.